Web hosting review

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is a hosted WordPress platform run by Automattic. Its pages clearly explain the company behind it, refund windows and auto-renewal, backups on the Business and Commerce plans, security features for every site, and how to take your site and domain elsewhere. Renewal prices on the pricing page, past incidents on the status page, support response times, data-centre cities and CPU and memory per plan were harder to pin down from the website alone.

Best for
WordPress
You sign with (EU)
Aut O'Mattic A8C Ireland Ltd., Ireland
Founded · based
Year not seen · San Francisco, California, USA

All ten signals at a glance

5 clear × 10 + 5 partly clear × 5 + 0 not seen × 0 = 75 / 100

Price over time

A WordPress.com post shows renewals $1 to $2 a month higher

The pricing page's renewal line shows an unfilled placeholder instead of a price, so these year-one and year-two prices come from a WordPress.com blog post dated 2 Oct 2026, on annual billing. The pricing page lists lower first-year prices for Premium ($8/mo) and Business ($25/mo), and $2.75 to $31.50/mo on 3-year terms. Monthly prices in US dollars, without tax, from wordpress.com/blog and wordpress.com/pricing on 21 Oct 2026.

Intro price vs renewal price, per monthIntroRenewal
Personal
$4.00$5.00
1.2×
Premium
$10.00$12.00
1.2×
Business
$27.00$29.00
1.1×
$0$10$20$30$40

What we found

Each finding links to the WordPress.com page it came from. Prices are the US-dollar prices on wordpress.com, without tax, which the pricing page says is excluded.

An AI read WordPress.com's public pages to write these findings. When something is partly clear or not seen, it may be explained on a page we didn't read, or our scan may have missed it.
Price

Honest pricing

Partly clear · 5 pts

The pricing page lists each plan for monthly, 1-year, 2-year and 3-year billing, and says prices exclude taxes. Personal is $9/mo on monthly billing, $4/mo billed yearly and $2.75/mo billed every 3 years. Under each price, the renewal line reads "Auto-renews at %(renewalMonthlyPrice)s per month", so the renewal price itself doesn't show. The terms and a help article say subscriptions renew at the full price once a discount ends, and a 2 Oct 2026 blog post gives year-two prices for three plans, such as Personal at $4/mo in year one and $5/mo in year two. The blog's first-year prices for Premium ($10/mo) and Business ($27/mo) differ from the pricing page ($8/mo and $25/mo).

People

Who runs it

Clear · 10 pts

The terms say you sign with Aut O'Mattic A8C Ireland Ltd. if you live in Europe, and with Automattic Inc. elsewhere. A help page says Automattic Inc. is the parent company of WordPress.com, registered in Delaware under number 3946446, at 60 29th Street #343, San Francisco. The Irish company is registered under number 538982, at Grand Canal Dock, 25 Herbert Place, Dublin. The terms are governed by California law, with mandatory consumer protections in your country kept. Card charges can show as WPCHRG.COM, WordPress, Automattic or WP*.

Problems

Uptime in public

Partly clear · 5 pts

A help article points to automatticstatus.com, a public status page for WordPress.com and other Automattic services. Its feed showed WordPress.com, WordPress.com Business and the WordPress.com API as operational, but the page's incident list didn't load for us, so we couldn't check past incidents. The hosting page claims 99.99% uptime and says each site is copied in real time to a second data centre; the Webflow comparison page says 99.999%. The terms say the service is provided "as is" with no promise that it will be uninterrupted, and we didn't see an SLA with credits.

People

Reachable support

Partly clear · 5 pts

The contact page starts with an AI assistant, "with access to 24/7 expert human support on paid plans", and links to community forums. The Personal and Premium plan pages promise 24/7 access to Happiness Engineers. The comparison page says Premium gets faster response times and Business and Commerce get priority response times, but we didn't see any stated response time. We didn't see which channels, such as chat or email, each plan gets, or a phone line.

Price

Fair terms

Clear · 10 pts

Annual, 2-year and 3-year plans are refundable within 14 days of purchase or renewal, and monthly plans within 7 days. Domain transfers, the $80 domain redemption fee and extra domain years are excluded, and refunds go back to the original payment method. Plans auto-renew by default at the full price, yearly plans one month before they expire, with an email notice first. You cancel under Billing, Active upgrades, and then remove the plan to get a refund. Refunds aren't prorated, and the terms say that outside these policies "there are no refunds and all payments are final". The terms also allow fee changes at any time, and European users get a 14-day withdrawal right.

Data

Backups you can use

Clear · 10 pts

Business and Commerce plans include automatic backups that run at least once every 24 hours, and more often when the site changes; the pricing page calls them real-time. You can restore from any backup from the past six months yourself in the dashboard, either the whole point in time or selected files and the database, and we didn't see a fee for restoring. Backups can be downloaded as a .tar.gz file. Free, Personal and Premium plans don't include automated backups, though the Webflow comparison page says backups are included on every plan.

Data

Security basics

Clear · 10 pts

All WordPress.com sites, including custom domains, are served over SSL, and the security page's heading calls it a free SSL certificate. Two-step login works with an authenticator app or SMS codes, with backup codes and physical or virtual security keys. Jetpack Scan checks every site daily for malware and risky plugins and themes. A web application firewall and DDoS protection cover all sites.

Data

Data location

Partly clear · 5 pts

A help article lists four primary data-centre regions: US West, US Central, US East and EU West, or an "optimal" one picked for you. On the Business plan you choose when you first turn on hosting features, and you can't change it later; Commerce sites can't change it either. Data is copied to several data centres, and we didn't see the countries or cities. A GDPR data processing agreement with standard model clauses is available to all site owners: you request it in your account settings, then sign and email it back.

AmericasUS WestUS CentralUS East
EuropeEU West
Product

Real specs

Partly clear · 5 pts

Plans list storage as numbers: 1 GB on Free, 6 GB on Personal, 13 GB on Premium and 50 GB on Business and Commerce, with paid storage add-ons. Personal and higher plans list unlimited pages, posts, users and visitors, and the hosting page says there are no traffic limits and no overage fees, without stating a limit. We didn't see CPU or memory for any plan.

Product

Easy exit

Clear · 10 pts

On Business and Commerce you can download a backup as a .tar.gz file and choose which parts to include, such as plugins, themes, media and the database. Free, Personal and Premium sites can export their content as a WordPress XML file and export the media library. To move a domain, you turn off the transfer lock and request an authorization code in the Domains section, with the usual 60-day wait after registering or transferring; the move takes five to seven days. We didn't see a fee for moving a domain away. If you cancel a plan, posts, pages and media stay on a free site at its .wordpress.com address.

What you get per plan

Storage comes from the pricing page; plugins, developer tools and backups from the plan and help pages. CPU and memory weren't on the pages we read. Bars compare each row against the largest plan.

LimitPersonalPremiumBusiness
Storage
6 GB
13 GB
50 GB, more as paid add-on
PluginsYes, 50,000+Yes, 50,000+Yes, 50,000+
SFTP, SSH, WP-CLI, GitNot listedNot listedIncluded
CPU and memoryNot statedNot statedNot stated
Visitors and bandwidthUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
BackupsNot includedNot includedAutomatic, kept 6 months

Tech stack

Best for WordPress sites

Hosts are built for different kinds of sites. Here is what WordPress.com says it runs, and on which plans. Tech fit is separate from the signal score.

Best fit: tools built for it on regular plansSupported: runs on some plans, with limitsVPS plans: you set it up yourself on a serverNot offered: look at another host

WordPress

Best fit

Every plan is a hosted WordPress site. From Personal up you can install plugins (a select few aren't allowed) and upload custom themes. Business and Commerce add SFTP/SSH, WP-CLI, Git commands, GitHub Deployments, staging and phpMyAdmin. We didn't see a list of PHP versions on the pages we read.

Plans: All plans; plugins from Personal, developer tools from Business

WooCommerce stores

Best fit

Commerce installs WooCommerce with a set of handpicked extensions, and the pricing page lists 0% transaction fees. Business can run WooCommerce too, with 0% fees for WooCommerce payments but without the premium store extensions.

Plans: Commerce; Business with plugins

Node.js, Python, Docker & static sites

Not offered

Every plan on the pricing and hosting pages is a WordPress site. We didn't see hosting for Node.js or Python apps, containers or plain static sites on the pages we read.

Plans: Not offered on the pages we read

Sales practices

Worth a closer look

We check five common sales practices and note them next to the score, without changing it. Two need a pass through checkout, which this scan didn't do. We'll add them on the next recheck.

  • Noticed
    "Unlimited" without a stated limit. Paid plans list unlimited pages, posts, users and visitors, and the hosting page promises unmetered bandwidth with no traffic limits or overage fees. The homepage adds "Unmetered traffic" and "No limits". We didn't see a stated limit.
  • Not checked yet
    Add-ons ticked for you at checkout. This scan didn't go through checkout.
  • Not checked yet
    Prices that change at the payment step. Listed prices exclude tax, and the renewal line on each plan shows a placeholder instead of a price. We didn't check the final checkout total.
  • Not noticed
    Countdown timers that reset. No timers on the pages we read. Plan cards carry "Save" percentage labels for longer terms.
  • Not noticed
    Reviews with no source. Hosting page quotes carry full names, some with a company or a link to the person's blog, plus one customer case study. The homepage shows a 4.5-star rating from 2,000+ reviews, credited to G2.

Questions to ask WordPress.com

Each partly clear or unseen signal leaves a question that the website didn't answer for us. WordPress.com's support can probably answer them before you buy.

  • Honest pricingWhat does each plan renew at, on each billing term?
  • Uptime in publicWhere can I see past WordPress.com incidents on automatticstatus.com?
  • Reachable supportWhich support channels does each paid plan get, and how fast do you reply?
  • Data locationWhich countries and cities are behind US West, US Central, US East and EU West?
  • Real specsHow much CPU and memory does each plan get, and what limits apply to "unlimited" visitors?