Web hosting review

Scaleway

Scaleway is a French cloud provider for instances, serverless, dedicated servers and web hosting, and a subsidiary of the iliad Group. Its site clearly explains who runs it, its flat prices before tax, support plans with response times, its public status page and its four European regions. A few things were harder to pin down from the website alone: refunds after you cancel, how web hosting restores work, malware scanning, bandwidth on web hosting, and downloading a full server copy.

You sign with
Scaleway SAS, France
Founded · based
Year not seen · Paris, France

All ten signals at a glance

5 clear × 10 + 5 partly clear × 5 + 0 not seen × 0 = 75 / 100

Price over time

No intro price, so nothing jumps at renewal

Scaleway shows one price per plan, with no intro discount and no renewal price. The web hosting page doesn't state a minimum term, and the general terms say the contract runs until you cancel, with monthly invoices. Monthly web hosting prices in euros, before tax, from scaleway.com/en/web-hosting and the managed services pricing page on 21 Oct 2026.

Price per month, before and after renewalSame price throughout
Mini
€3.99
same
Essential
€9.99
same
Advanced
€24.99
same
€0€10€20€30

What we found

Each finding links to the Scaleway page it came from. Prices are the euro prices on scaleway.com, which the pricing pages mark as before tax.

An AI read Scaleway's public pages to write these findings. When something is partly clear or not seen, it may be explained on a page we didn't read, or our scan may have missed it.
Price

Honest pricing

Clear · 10 pts

Scaleway shows one price per plan, with no intro discount and no renewal price. Web hosting is €3.99/mo for Mini, €9.99/mo for Essential and €24.99/mo for Advanced, and the pricing pages say "Prices before tax." Instances are priced by the hour, such as DEV1-S at €0.00898/hr (about €6.55/mo), and storage and public IPv4 addresses are charged on top; an extra IPv4 address is €0.005/hr. The general terms say the contract runs for an indefinite period, invoices are monthly, and each started work unit is billed in full. Dedibox servers can be taken with a 12, 24 or 36-month commitment for up to 15% off, and an install fee equal to one month's rent applies to each order unless a commitment waives it.

People

Who runs it

Clear · 10 pts

The legal notice names SCALEWAY, a simplified joint stock company (SAS), at 8 rue de la Ville-l'Évêque, 75008 Paris, France. It gives the registration SIREN 433 115 904 RCS Paris, the VAT number FR 35 433115904 and a share capital of €142,050. The About page says Scaleway is a subsidiary of the iliad Group. The general terms are a contract between Scaleway SAS and the client. We didn't see a founding year on the pages we read.

Problems

Uptime in public

Clear · 10 pts

A public status page tracks about 40 products, the three availability zones in each of Paris, Amsterdam, Warsaw and Milan, and the Dedibox data centres. When we looked, it listed open incidents and resolved incidents by day for the past two weeks, such as a cooling system failure in fr-par-1 on 16 Oct, and links to a full history page. We didn't see uptime percentages on the status page. The Web Hosting SLA sets a 95.0% monthly availability target, with credits of 10% to 50% of the monthly bill that you claim within 30 days after the month.

People

Reachable support

Clear · 10 pts

Every account gets the free Basic plan, with 24/7 ticket support and a stated first response within 8 hours for P1 incidents. Advanced costs €50/mo excl. tax or 5% of spend, whichever is higher, with a 2-hour P1 response and a phone hotline every day from 9am to 6pm. Business (€250/mo or 10%) promises under 30 minutes and Enterprise (€990/mo or 20%) 15 minutes, both with a 24/7 hotline. Support is in English and French. We didn't see live chat, and response times are stated for P1 incidents only.

Price

Fair terms

Partly clear · 5 pts

There is no money-back period for business customers. Consumers can withdraw within 14 days and get back what they paid, minus the value of services already provided. The contract runs until you cancel, and you can cancel online services at any time without a penalty, in the console or with the API; the terms refund prepaid sums only when Scaleway ends a service itself. To end web hosting, you click "Terminate Web Hosting" in the console, which deletes your files and emails at once. We didn't see whether unused fees are refunded after you cancel, or how to leave a Dedibox commitment early. The English terms we read are dated 17 Jul 2024; the contracts page lists a newer version, which we read only in French.

Data

Backups you can use

Partly clear · 5 pts

Web hosting backups are an option at €2.99/mo, powered by JetBackup and reached through your control panel; the Advanced plan lists automated backups as included. The ordering guide says the option takes daily backups of your website, emails and databases, keeps them for three days, and keeps a full weekly backup for two months. Instances have no built-in automatic backup: you take snapshots yourself or schedule them with the CLI and Serverless Jobs. The general terms say backups of your content are your job. We didn't see how a web hosting restore works or whether it costs extra.

Data

Security basics

Partly clear · 5 pts

Every web hosting plan lists SSL as included, and mailboxes come with anti-spam and anti-virus. Account login supports two-factor login with an authenticator app, with backup codes, and account owners can add a passkey; organisations can make two-factor login mandatory for members. The security page says the platform runs 24/7 with native DDoS protection and is ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and HDS certified. We didn't see malware scanning for web hosting sites or servers on the pages we read.

Data

Data location

Clear · 10 pts

Scaleway has four regions in Europe, each with three availability zones: Paris, Amsterdam, Warsaw and Milan. Web hosting runs in Paris, Amsterdam and Warsaw, and Dedibox servers in Paris data centres DC1 to DC5 and in Amsterdam AMS1. The data processing agreement says services are located in the EU by default, and you pick the location when you order. The DPA is published on the contracts page, and the privacy policy says data transfers outside the EU use standard contractual clauses.

EuropeFrance: Paris (3 zones; Dedibox DC1 to DC5)Netherlands: Amsterdam (3 zones; Dedibox AMS1)Poland: Warsaw (3 zones)Italy: Milan (3 zones, instances and containers only)
Product

Real specs

Partly clear · 5 pts

Web hosting plans list storage, vCPU, RAM and websites as numbers: Mini has 1 GB SSD, 1 vCPU, 1 GB RAM and 1 website, and Essential lists 500 GB SSD, 12 cores and 48 GB RAM for up to 10 websites. The page doesn't say whether those cores and memory are shared. Essential and Advanced list unlimited databases without a stated limit, and we didn't see a bandwidth figure for web hosting. Instances list vCPUs, RAM and bandwidth, such as DEV1-S with 2 vCPUs, 2 GB and 200 Mbps, and Dedibox servers list the CPU model, memory, disks and port speed.

Product

Easy exit

Partly clear · 5 pts

To move a domain away, you unlock it in the console and copy the transfer code; domains can't be unlocked until 60 days after they are created, and we didn't see a fee for leaving. On cPanel web hosting you can download your files with the File Manager or FTP, and the plans list phpMyAdmin. Instance snapshots can be copied to an Object Storage bucket as QCOW2 files, and the instance pricing page says there are no egress fees. The terms say your content is deleted within 10 days of termination, so you move it first. We didn't see a guide for exporting web hosting databases or downloading a whole server.

What you get per plan

These numbers come from the Web Hosting page. The page doesn't say whether the cores and memory on Essential and Advanced are shared with other customers. Bars compare each row against the largest plan.

LimitMiniEssentialAdvanced
Storage
1 GB SSD
500 GB SSD
1,000 GB SSD
vCPU (as listed)
1 core
12 cores
16 cores
Memory (as listed)
1 GB
48 GB
64 GB
Websites
1
Up to 10
Up to 50
Databases1 (WordPress plan)Unlimited, no limit statedUnlimited, no limit stated
BackupsNot listed; €2.99/mo optionNot listed; €2.99/mo optionIncluded
BandwidthNot statedNot statedNot stated

Tech stack

Best for containers and PHP sites

Hosts are built for different kinds of sites. Here is what Scaleway says it runs, and on which products. Tech fit is separate from the signal score.

Best fit: tools built for it on regular plansSupported: runs on some plans, with limitsVPS plans: you set it up yourself on a server

Docker & containers

Best fit

Serverless Containers run any containerized web app that listens on the PORT variable, in any language, pushed to Scaleway's Container Registry. They scale from zero to 200 instances, and a free tier covers 400,000 GB-s of memory and 200,000 vCPU-s a month. Containers run in all four regions.

Plans: Serverless Containers, pay as you go

PHP

Best fit

cPanel web hosting runs PHP 7.4 to 8.5, with FTP access, phpMyAdmin and sub-domains on every cPanel plan. Serverless Functions also offer PHP 8.4 and 8.5. We didn't see SSH or Git on the web hosting pages we read.

Plans: Web hosting Essential and Advanced (cPanel)

WordPress

Supported

Every web hosting plan can run on WordPress, and Mini is WordPress only, with one website and one database. The page lists 420+ click-to-deploy apps, including WordPress. We didn't see staging sites or WordPress caching on the pages we read.

Plans: Web hosting, from Mini at €3.99/mo

Node.js & Python

Supported

Serverless Functions run Node.js 22, 24 and 26, Python 3.9 and 3.11 to 3.14, Go and Rust. A free tier covers 400,000 GB-s and 1 million requests a month. You can also run either language in a container. We didn't see Node.js or Python on web hosting.

Plans: Serverless Functions and Containers

Self-hosted apps

VPS plans

Instances come with images such as Ubuntu, Fedora and Windows, from DEV1-S at €0.00898/hr. Dedibox dedicated servers list the CPU model, RAM and disks, from Pro-4-S at €34.99/mo in the pricing table.

Plans: Instances and Dedibox

Sales practices

Worth a closer look

We check five common sales practices and note them next to the score, without changing it. Two need a pass through checkout, which this scan didn't do. We'll add them on the next recheck.

  • Noticed
    "Unlimited" without a stated limit. Web hosting Essential and Advanced list unlimited databases, and the Dedibox Start range lists unlimited public and private network traffic, with no limit stated. Dedibox plans do list a port speed.
  • Not checked yet
    Add-ons ticked for you at checkout. This scan didn't go through checkout. The ordering guide lists backups and a dedicated IP as options you configure.
  • Not checked yet
    Prices that change at the payment step. Listed prices are before tax, and instance prices exclude storage and public IPv4 addresses. We didn't check a final invoice.
  • Not noticed
    Countdown timers that reset. No countdown timers on the pages we read. The Dedibox page still showed a "Back to School" discount dated 14 Sep to 4 Oct 2026 when we looked.
  • Not noticed
    Reviews with no source. Homepage quotes carry a name, role and company, and the Dedibox page names its featured customers.

Questions to ask Scaleway

Each partly clear or unseen signal leaves a question that the website didn't answer for us. Scaleway's support can probably answer them before you buy.

  • Fair termsAre unused fees refunded when I cancel, and how do I leave a Dedibox commitment early?
  • BackupsHow do I restore a web hosting backup, and does a restore cost anything?
  • Security basicsDo you scan web hosting sites for malware?
  • Real specsIs there a bandwidth or database limit on web hosting plans?
  • Easy exitHow do I export web hosting databases or download a whole server?

Pages we read

42 pages · all read 21 Oct 2026
  1. scaleway.com/en
  2. scaleway.com/en/pricing
  3. scaleway.com/en/pricing/virtual-instances
  4. scaleway.com/en/pricing/managed-services
  5. scaleway.com/en/pricing/dedibox
  6. scaleway.com/en/pricing/serverless
  7. scaleway.com/en/pricing/domains
  8. scaleway.com/en/pricing/network
  9. scaleway.com/en/pricing/security-and-account
  10. scaleway.com/en/web-hosting
  11. scaleway.com/en/managed-web-hosting
  12. scaleway.com/en/virtual-instances
  13. scaleway.com/en/serverless-containers
  14. scaleway.com/en/dedibox
  15. scaleway.com/en/product-availability-by-region
  16. scaleway.com/en/about-us
  17. scaleway.com/en/support
  18. scaleway.com/en/security-and-compliance
  19. scaleway.com/en/legal-notice
  20. scaleway.com/en/contracts
  21. scaleway.com/en/privacy-policy
  22. scaleway.com/en/terms/sla
  23. scaleway.com/en/web-hosting/sla
  24. General Terms of Services (17 Jul 2024, English)
  25. General Terms of Services (7 Apr 2026, French)
  26. Specific Conditions, merged (21 Sep 2026, French)
  27. Data Processing Agreement (1 Jun 2024)
  28. status.scaleway.com
  29. docs · web hosting FAQ
  30. docs · web hosting concepts
  31. docs · ordering web hosting
  32. docs · managing cPanel hosting
  33. docs · protecting a web hosting plan
  34. docs · terminating web hosting
  35. docs · PHP versions
  36. docs · shared hosting security
  37. docs · logging in to the console
  38. docs · two-factor login
  39. docs · backup strategies
  40. docs · snapshot import and export
  41. docs · unlocking a domain
  42. docs · Functions runtimes

This report covers what Scaleway publishes, as read by an AI. It can miss things or misread a page. We didn't host a test site, so it says nothing about real speed or how helpful support feels.