Every shared and WordPress plan card shows the renewal price under the intro price. Mini is $2.95/mo and renews at $11.95/mo, and Advanced is $9.95/mo, renewing at $19.95/mo. Managed Cloud Build #1 is $22.46/mo and renews at $54.95/mo. Each card offers 36-, 12- and 1-month terms, but we didn't see which term the intro price needs, and the pages don't mention tax or name the currency. On the cloud pages, the "billed up front" line showed only a placeholder.
Web hosting review
ScalaHosting
ScalaHosting shows renewal prices on every plan card, lists 24/7 support with stated response times, and explains two-factor login, full account backups and domain transfer codes clearly. Harder to pin down were the billing term and tax behind the intro prices, a public status page, a data processing agreement, and CPU and memory numbers for cloud plans. The terms and a help article describe refunds after 30 days differently.
- Website
- scalahosting.com
- You sign with
- Scala Hosting LLC, USA
- Founded · based
- 2007 · Dallas, Texas, USA
All ten signals at a glance
3 clear × 10 + 7 partly clear × 5 + 0 not seen × 0 = 65 / 100
Price over time
Renewal prices are 2 to 4 times the intro price
This is common in hosting, and ScalaHosting shows both prices on its plan cards. The cards offer 36-, 12- and 1-month terms but don't say which one the intro price needs. Monthly prices in dollars, with no tax note, from scalahosting.com/web-hosting-for-small-business.html and scalahosting.com/managed-cloud-hosting.html on 20 Oct 2026.
Assumes the intro price covers the first 12 months, which the page doesn't confirm, and the listed $11.95/mo renewal price after that. Actual renewal prices and terms may change.
Key pages, in brief
Our summary of each page. Open the link to see the original.- 36, 12 and 1-month term options
- Term for the intro price not stated
- No tax or currency note
- Excludes dedicated servers, SSL and domains
- Cancel in the client area, not by email
- Renewal invoice 7 days before expiry
- 4 on ScalaHosting's own infrastructure
- Others on AWS or "Integrated Cloud"
- Choice at sign-up not stated
What we found
Each finding links to the ScalaHosting page it came from. Prices are the dollar prices on scalahosting.com; the pages we read don't name the currency or say whether tax is included.
The contact page and privacy policy name Scala Hosting LLC, at 1999 Bryan Street, Suite 900, Dallas, Texas. The About page says ScalaHosting launched in 2007 and lists its co-founders and managers by first name and initial. The terms of service only say "ScalaHosting", without a legal entity, address or governing law. We didn't see a company registration number on the pages we read.
We didn't see a public status page on the pages we read, and the Network and Data Centers page doesn't link to one. The terms promise 99.9% monthly uptime, with credits from 10% at 99.8% up to 100% below 99%. Scheduled downtime is excluded, and you claim by billing ticket with logs. The Managed Cloud page cites a 99.99% uptime SLA. A blog post lists monthly uptime from 2007 to 2011, but nothing more recent.
The contact page says support is available 24/7/365 by live chat, email and tickets. The web hosting FAQ promises an immediate chat connection and a first ticket reply within 15 minutes, and the homepage gives a 15-second average chat response. Billing and pre-sales work Monday to Friday, 2:30 am to 5 pm US Central time, and a pre-sales phone number is listed. We didn't see a phone line for technical support. A ScalaHosting blog post says the support team is in-house and fully human.
The terms give new clients a full refund within 30 days, and a partial refund for the unused part of the service at any time after that, on web, reseller and VPS hosting. Dedicated servers, SSL certificates, domains and software licences are excluded, and a free domain is charged at its normal price if you take the 30-day refund. You cancel in the client area, since email requests don't count, and processing takes up to 7 days. Renewal invoices are created 7 days before expiry at the current renewal price unless you've cancelled. The help article on refunds says there are no refunds after the guarantee period, which doesn't match the terms, and we didn't see how a partial refund is worked out.
Shared and managed VPS accounts get daily backups, stored on a remote server. A help article says 7 restore points are kept for the last 7 days, while the terms mention daily and weekly backups and say they aren't guaranteed at all times. You restore files and databases yourself in SPanel, or with R1Soft in cPanel, and you can download databases as SQL files. Unmanaged cloud VPS plans include free snapshots, with backups as paid add-ons ($6 for 3 days, $15 for 7 days). We didn't see whether a restore by support costs extra.
Shared, WordPress and cloud plans all list free Let's Encrypt SSL certificates. The client area supports two-factor login with an authenticator app such as Google Authenticator or Duo, and adds a support PIN. Shared plans list real-time malware protection. SShield, ScalaHosting's AI-based monitoring tool, is available on SPanel plans only.
The Network and Data Centers page lists 24 locations in North America, Europe and Asia-Pacific. Dallas, New York, Seattle and Sofia run on ScalaHosting's own infrastructure; the rest are labelled AWS or "Integrated Cloud". The VPS pages say 13 locations on 4 continents, and we didn't see which products run where, or whether you can pick a location at sign-up. The privacy policy has a GDPR section, says ScalaHosting acts as processor for client data, and says data may be stored in the US or elsewhere. We didn't see a data processing agreement on the pages we read.
Shared plans list NVMe storage and websites: Mini has 10 GB and 1 website, Start 50 GB and Advanced 100 GB, both with unlimited websites. CPU and RAM are shared, and the terms cap CPU and memory use at 3%, 5% and 9% for these plans. Entry Cloud lists 2 dedicated CPU cores and 2 GB RAM, but its storage value didn't show on the page. The managed and unmanaged cloud pages show CPU, RAM and storage fields without numbers in the content we read. Bandwidth has "no limits", and a blog post says there are no inode limits.
SPanel's Backup tool generates a full account backup of files, databases and email, and can send it to a remote FTP server. You can download a backup by FTP or the File Manager, and export databases as SQL files. To move a domain, you disable the registrar lock and get the EPP code yourself in the client area's Manage menu, with the usual 60-day wait after registration. We didn't see a fee for moving a domain away. The terms say migrations from other providers into ScalaHosting are free.
What you get per plan
Storage and websites come from the web hosting pricing page. CPU and memory caps and email limits come from the terms of service. Cloud plan numbers didn't show in the content we read. Bars compare each row against the largest plan.
| Limit | Mini | Start | Advanced |
|---|---|---|---|
| Storage | 10 GB NVMe | 50 GB NVMe | 100 GB NVMe |
| Websites | 1 | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| CPU and memory | Shared, 3% cap | Shared, 5% cap | Shared, 9% cap |
| Emails per hour | 500 | 500 | 750 |
| Bandwidth | No limits stated | No limits stated | No limits stated |
| Backups | Daily, offsite | Daily, offsite | Daily, offsite |
Tech stack
Best for WordPress and PHP sites
Hosts are built for different kinds of sites. Here is what ScalaHosting says it runs, and on which plans. Tech fit is separate from the signal score.
WordPress
Best fitWordPress plans include free installation and migration, automatic updates, staging and cloning, and WP-CLI with SSH. LiteSpeed caching and object cache are only on Entry Cloud and up.
Plans: Mini, Start, Advanced and Entry CloudPHP
Best fitThe PHP hosting page says all PHP versions from 7.2 onwards are supported, and support can move you to a server with older versions. All shared plans list Git and SSH access. On managed cloud, SPanel lets you change the PHP version per domain.
Plans: All shared and managed cloud plansNode.js
SupportedSPanel has a Node.js manager, and a ScalaHosting blog post says Node.js is set up on all SPanel servers, with apps on ports 3000 to 3500. We didn't see Node.js support stated for shared plans.
Plans: Managed cloud (SPanel VPS)Python
SupportedThe PHP hosting page's comparison table marks Python as available in both SPanel and cPanel. A help article shows using pip and a virtual environment over SSH. We didn't see which Python versions are installed, or a Django or Flask guide.
Plans: Not stated on the pages we readDocker & containers
VPS plansA ScalaHosting blog post says self-managed VPS plans are the option for Docker containers, with root access. Unmanaged cloud plans offer Ubuntu, Debian, Rocky Linux and AlmaLinux, from $19.95/mo. We didn't see Docker mentioned for managed plans.
Plans: Unmanaged cloud VPSSales practices
Worth a closer look
We check five common sales practices and note them next to the score, without changing it. Two need a pass through checkout, which this scan didn't do. We'll add them on the next recheck.
- Noticed"Unlimited" without a stated limit. Shared plans list unlimited websites (from Start), databases and mailboxes, and "no bandwidth limits". The terms cap CPU and memory use and hourly email sending per plan, but we didn't see a bandwidth number.
- Not checked yetAdd-ons ticked for you at checkout. This scan didn't go through checkout.
- Not checked yetPrices that change at the payment step. The pages don't say whether tax is added, and the cloud pages' upfront total showed a placeholder. We didn't check the final checkout total.
- Not noticedCountdown timers that reset. No timers on the pages we read. Some plans carry "Black Friday" badges while the banner reads "Easter 2026", so we couldn't tell when the offer ends.
- Not noticedReviews with no source. The homepage shows Trustpilot, G2 and Google ratings with review counts, and customer quotes labelled with their platform. We didn't check whether each one links to the review site.
Questions to ask ScalaHosting
Each partly clear or unseen signal leaves a question that the website didn't answer for us. ScalaHosting's support can probably answer them before you buy.
- Honest pricingWhich billing term do the intro prices need, and is tax included?
- Uptime in publicIs there a public status page with past incidents?
- Fair termsAfter 30 days, can I get a partial refund, and how is it worked out?
- Data locationCan I sign a data processing agreement and choose a European data centre?
- Real specsHow much CPU, RAM and storage does each cloud plan include?
Pages we read
31 pages · all read 20 Oct 2026- scalahosting.com
- scalahosting.com/sitemap.html
- scalahosting.com/web-hosting-for-small-business.html
- scalahosting.com/fastest-wordpress-hosting.html
- scalahosting.com/managed-cloud-hosting.html
- scalahosting.com/cloud-vps-hosting.html
- scalahosting.com/cpanel-vps-hosting.html
- scalahosting.com/linux-vps-hosting.html
- scalahosting.com/php-hosting.html
- scalahosting.com/spanel.html
- scalahosting.com/about-us.html
- scalahosting.com/contact-us.html
- scalahosting.com/tos.html
- scalahosting.com/privacy-policy.html
- scalahosting.com/network-and-datacenters.html
- kb · general questions
- kb · refund policy
- kb · client area
- kb · backup frequency and access
- kb · restoring from backups
- kb · generating a full backup
- kb · transferring a domain away
- kb · managed VPS status
- kb · software versions
- kb · MySQL with Python
- blog · uptime
- blog · support services
- blog · shared hosting limits
- blog · developer hosting tools
- blog · Node.js on a VPS
- blog · Docker on a VPS
This report covers what ScalaHosting publishes, as read by an AI. It can miss things or misread a page. We didn't host a test site, so it says nothing about real speed or how helpful support feels.