Web hosting review

Raidboxes

Raidboxes is a managed WordPress host from Münster, Germany. Its site clearly names the company you sign with, explains support hours and response times, backups, security features and its data centre in Düsseldorf. A few things were harder to pin down: what you pay once the new-customer discount ends, refunds after the withdrawal period, past incidents on the status page, and how to move a domain away.

You sign with
Raidboxes GmbH, Germany
Founded · based
2013 · Münster, Germany

All ten signals at a glance

6 clear × 10 + 4 partly clear × 5 + 0 not seen × 0 = 80 / 100

Price over time

Regular prices are twice the new-customer price

Raidboxes shows a 50% new-customer price next to a struck-through regular price. The discount applies to a first hosting contract for up to 12 months, for bookings through 30 Dec 2026; the page doesn't say in words that the regular price applies afterwards. Monthly prices on monthly billing, in euros, which the page says are "subject to 19% VAT", from raidboxes.io/en/wordpress-hosting-pricing on 21 Oct 2026.

Intro price vs renewal price, per monthIntroRenewal
Mini
€9.00€18.00
2.0×
Starter
€12.00€24.00
2.0×
Fully Managed
€17.50€35.00
2.0×
Business
€95.00€190.00
2.0×
€0€50€100€150€200€250

What we found

Each finding links to the Raidboxes page it came from. Prices are the euro prices on raidboxes.io/en, which the page says are "subject to 19% VAT".

An AI read Raidboxes's public pages to write these findings. When something is partly clear or not seen, it may be explained on a page we didn't read, or our scan may have missed it.
Price

Honest pricing

Partly clear · 5 pts

Plan cards show a new-customer price next to a struck-through regular price: Mini is €9.00/mo "instead of €18.00", and Business €95.00/mo instead of €190.00. A footnote says new customers get 50% off their first hosting contract for up to 12 months, for bookings through 30 Dec 2026. The page doesn't say in words that the regular price is what you pay afterwards, or state a minimum term. Annual payment adds 10% off, while a help article lists 5%, 10% and 15% off for 6, 12 and 24 months. The page says "All prices are subject to 19% VAT", without saying whether the prices shown include it.

People

Who runs it

Clear · 10 pts

The legal notice names Raidboxes GmbH, Hafenstraße 32, 48153 Münster, registered at Münster Local Court under HRB 16184, with VAT ID DE306895091. It names Christian Klapka and Johannes Bernardus Nijholt as authorised to represent the company. The terms name the same company as your contract partner, under German law. The About page dates the start to 2013 and says Raidboxes is part of team.blue.

Problems

Uptime in public

Partly clear · 5 pts

A public status page at raidboxes.statuspage.io lists components such as the dashboard, live chat, boxes by plan, email, backups, SSH and domains, all operational when we looked. Every day from 7 to 21 Oct 2026 read "No incidents reported", and the incident history page showed no past incidents in what we could read. The terms guarantee 99.9% availability on an annual average, with maintenance time counted as available, while sales pages say 99.99% uptime. We didn't see credits for missed uptime.

People

Reachable support

Clear · 10 pts

Support runs through live chat, daily from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m., 365 days a year, including weekends and holidays, in German and English. The support page gives a chat response time of "< 10 min". We didn't see a support phone number or email address, and the page says "No bots, no tickets". Sales calls are booked online. The terms guarantee fault reports and fixes Monday to Friday, 9:00 to 18:00 CET.

Price

Fair terms

Partly clear · 5 pts

You can try a site free for up to 14 days without payment details. Consumers can withdraw within 14 days of ordering and get payments back within 14 days; domain contracts are excluded. Contracts renew automatically by the chosen billing period, and a help article says there are no cancellation periods: you cancel in the dashboard under Contracts, and consumers can also use an online form. We didn't see a money-back period for business customers, or whether you get a refund after the withdrawal period, for example when cancelling "immediately". Price changes apply from the next billing period at the earliest.

Data

Backups you can use

Clear · 10 pts

Every plan gets an automatic backup every night at around 3 a.m., stored on a separate server. Mini keeps 7 days, Starter 14 days and larger plans 30 days, and manual backups range from 1 on Starter to 10 on Pro and up. You restore a backup yourself with one click in the dashboard's Backups tab; we didn't see a fee for restoring. Downloading a backup as a tar.gz file needs Starter or higher, and the link is valid for 24 hours.

Data

Security basics

Clear · 10 pts

Every box gets a free Let's Encrypt certificate that renews automatically. Two-factor login for the dashboard is optional, with an authenticator app or a code by email; the security page also mentions text messages, which the help article doesn't. A "Security Shield" covers DDoS protection, a web application firewall and exploit detection, and the security page says the system regularly scans sites for vulnerabilities. A help article says Patchman security scanning is now included free.

Data

Data location

Clear · 10 pts

The security page says websites are hosted at Equinix in Düsseldorf, Germany, and the plan pages list "Server location Germany" for every plan. We didn't see other locations, so there is no choice to make. You conclude a data processing agreement online with a form, and the help center says one signature covers all sites in an account. We didn't see a list of sub-processors on the DPA page.

EuropeGermany: Düsseldorf (Equinix)
Product

Real specs

Clear · 10 pts

Each plan lists vCores, RAM, SSD storage, PHP workers and PHP memory as numbers. Mini has 1 shared vCore, 5 GB SSD and 10 PHP workers, and Business has 6 dedicated vCores, 12 GB RAM and 30 GB SSD. Mini's RAM reads 4 GB on the plan card but 2 GB in the comparison table. We didn't see limits on visits or bandwidth. "Unlimited" is used only for free WordPress migrations.

Product

Easy exit

Partly clear · 5 pts

You can download a full backup of a box as a tar.gz file on Starter and higher, and every plan lists SFTP and phpMyAdmin access. A help article on moving to another host says a dashboard backup works elsewhere without changes. Mini boxes need an upgrade to Starter before you can download a backup. We didn't see how to move a domain away from Raidboxes, such as getting an authorization code, or whether leaving costs anything.

What you get per plan

These numbers come from the plan cards and comparison table on the Raidboxes pricing page. These are the three smallest plans. Bars compare each row against the largest plan.

LimitMiniStarterFully Managed
CPU (shared vCores)
1
2
2
Memory4 GB on the card, 2 GB in the table4 GB4 GB
SSD storage
5 GB
10 GB
10 GB
PHP workers
10
20
20
PHP memory limit128 MBUp to 1,024 MBUp to 1,024 MB
Backups kept
7 days
14 days
30 days
Visits and bandwidthNot statedNot statedNot stated

Tech stack

Best for WordPress sites

Hosts are built for different kinds of sites. Here is what Raidboxes says it runs, and on which plans. Tech fit is separate from the signal score.

Best fit: tools built for it on regular plansSupported: runs on some plans, with limitsVPS plans: you set it up yourself on a serverNot offered: look at another host

WordPress

Best fit

Every plan is managed WordPress hosting, with nightly backups, one-click staging, automatic updates and unlimited free migrations. Each site runs in its own environment. SSH with WP-CLI and Git is listed, but SSH can't be switched on for Mini boxes.

Plans: All plans, from Mini

PHP

Supported

Plans list PHP 7.2 to 8.4, which you switch in the dashboard, with the change taking effect immediately. Databases are reached through phpMyAdmin or Adminer in the dashboard, not from outside. We didn't see PHP apps other than WordPress mentioned on the pages we read.

Plans: All plans, for WordPress

Node.js, Python, Docker & static sites

Not offered

The product pages we read don't mention Node.js, Python, Docker or static site hosting. The only "static" mention is the Mini plan, described as suitable for small static WordPress websites.

Plans: Not offered

Sales practices

Worth a closer look

We check five common sales practices and note them next to the score, without changing it. Two need a pass through checkout, which this scan didn't do. We'll add them on the next recheck.

  • Not noticed
    "Unlimited" without a stated limit. "Unlimited" appears only for free WordPress migrations. CPU, RAM and storage are listed as numbers; visits and bandwidth aren't mentioned.
  • Not checked yet
    Add-ons ticked for you at checkout. This scan didn't go through checkout. The pricing page lists add-ons such as extra staging, Redis and extra storage separately, each with its own price.
  • Not checked yet
    Prices that change at the payment step. The page says prices are "subject to 19% VAT", without saying whether the shown prices include it. We didn't check the final checkout total.
  • Not noticed
    Countdown timers that reset. No timers on the pages we read. The 50% new-customer offer carries a fixed end date of 30 Dec 2026.
  • Not noticed
    Reviews with no source. Named quotes carry a person's name and company. Shorter reviews show a first name, an initial and a date next to a 4.60 rating from 239 reviews, which the homepage credits to Google.

Questions to ask Raidboxes

Each partly clear or unseen signal leaves a question that the website didn't answer for us. Raidboxes's support can probably answer them before you buy.

  • Honest pricingDoes the regular "instead of" price apply once the 12-month discount ends, and do the prices shown include VAT?
  • Uptime in publicWhere can I see past incidents and measured uptime?
  • Fair termsDo business customers get a money-back period, and is any part of a prepaid term refunded on cancellation?
  • Easy exitHow do I move a domain registered with Raidboxes to another provider, and does it cost anything?