RackNerd shows one price per plan, with no separate renewal price. The VPS specials are priced per year, from $21.99/year for a 1 GB KVM VPS, and the FAQ says they are "lifetime recurring" and renew at the same rate. The standard KVM VPS page lists 512 MB at $26.99/year and 1 GB at $17.99/month, and shared plans start at $5.59/month, month-to-month, with annual prepayment offered at checkout but no annual prices listed. The homepage says VPS starts at $2.24/mo, a figure we didn't see on the plan pages. The pages show a "$" sign without naming the currency, and we didn't see whether tax is included.
Web hosting review
RackNerd
RackNerd sells budget KVM VPS, cPanel shared hosting and dedicated servers. Its site clearly shows a public status page with daily incident history, 24x7 ticket support with a stated average response time, numbered VPS and dedicated specs, 20 named data centres, and that VPS specials renew at the same yearly price. A few things were harder to pin down from the website alone: a company registration number, tax and currency, a GDPR data processing agreement, malware protection, and how to move a domain away.
- Website
- racknerd.com
- Best for
- WordPress · PHP
- You sign with
- RackNerd LLC, USA (Delaware)
- Founded · based
- Year not seen · Rancho Cucamonga, California, USA (mailing address)
All ten signals at a glance
2 clear × 10 + 8 partly clear × 5 + 0 not seen × 0 = 60 / 100
Price over time
No intro price, so nothing jumps at renewal
RackNerd shows one price per plan, with no intro discount and no separate renewal price, and the VPS specials FAQ says they renew at the same rate. Shared plans are month-to-month. VPS specials are priced per year only, so they aren't in this chart. Monthly prices with a "$" sign, from racknerd.com/shared-hosting and racknerd.com/kvm-vps on 21 Oct 2026; the pages don't name the currency or say whether tax is included.
Key pages, in brief
Our summary of each page. Open the link to see the original.- 1 vCPU, 1 GB RAM, 20 GB SSD, 3 TB
- FAQ calls specials "lifetime recurring"
- Currency and tax not stated
- Incidents listed day by day
- Each incident has its own page
- Previous-week link and RSS feed
- No refunds by default once paid
- Data removed when you cancel
- Delaware LLC, California arbitration
What we found
Each finding links to the RackNerd page it came from. Prices are as shown on racknerd.com with a "$" sign; the pages we read don't name the currency or say whether tax is included.
The terms say RackNerd LLC is a registered company in the state of Delaware, with an address at 10602 N. Trademark Pkwy, Suite 511, Rancho Cucamonga, California 91730. The contact page gives the same address as the corporate mailing address and says it is not a data centre. The About page names the founder, Dustin B. Cisneros. Disputes go to arbitration under California law, in San Bernardino County. We didn't see a company registration number or a founding year on the pages we read.
A public status page tracks 22 parts of the service: 20 data centres and two portals, the client area and the VPS control panel. It lists incidents day by day, mostly single-node outages marked resolved, plus a power-related partial outage in Los Angeles DC-03 on 16 Oct 2026 and scheduled maintenance in Ashburn. Each incident has its own page, and there are links to the previous week and an RSS feed. The SLA promises 99.999% network transit and power each month, with a credit of 2% of the monthly fee per extra hour, capped at 50%. Credits are claimed by email within 30 days, and announced maintenance of up to 180 minutes a month is excluded.
Support runs through tickets in the client area, with separate departments for sales, support, billing and abuse. The site says support is available 24x7, and a 2025 blog guide to opening a ticket says response times "average under 10 minutes". The phone number, +1 (888) 881-NERD, is a corporate hotline for general questions, and the contact page sends urgent support matters to tickets. We didn't see live chat on the pages we read.
The terms give no money-back period: refunds are decided case by case, and "by default no refunds are provided once payment is received". The knowledge base adds that RackNerd doesn't offer refunds or a money-back guarantee, including when you ask for immediate cancellation. Account credit can't be refunded, and neither can services suspended for prohibited use. To cancel, you give five days' written notice before the renewal date through the client area, or seven days for contract services, which may carry an early termination fee set case by case. Data is removed as soon as a service is cancelled. We didn't see the auto-renewal rules or how price changes are announced.
Shared and reseller plans list free daily JetBackup backups, stored off-site. A 2022 blog post says these are kept for 30 days at no extra charge, and a 2020 post says you can restore or download full-account snapshots yourself in cPanel. The terms call these backups a best-effort courtesy and say you must keep your own copies. VPS, dedicated and colocation services don't include backups unless bought separately, and we didn't see a VPS backup product or price; a 2024 blog guide suggests copying data to a second VPS with rsync.
Shared and reseller plans include free SSL certificates, and shared hosting is described as DDoS-protected, with KernelCare kernel updates. A help article explains two-factor login with an authenticator app for the billing account, the SolusVM VPS panel and cPanel. The ctrl control panel page shows two-factor login with recovery codes, and an optional network firewall with up to 12 rules. We didn't see malware scanning on the pages we read.
The data centres page names 20 locations: 14 in North America, five in Europe and one in Singapore. Shared hosting lets you pick Los Angeles, New York City, Germany, France or Singapore at checkout, and the KVM VPS page lists 12 locations, including Amsterdam, France and Dublin. The privacy policy, last revised 18 Sep 2019, says it applies to customers in the United States and doesn't mention the GDPR. We didn't see a data processing agreement on the pages we read.
VPS plans list vCPU, memory, SSD storage, transfer and port speed as numbers: the 1 GB KVM special has 1 vCPU, 20 GB SSD and 3 TB of transfer at 1Gbps. Dedicated servers list the CPU model, RAM, disks and a TB bandwidth allowance. Shared plans list SSD storage and monthly transfer, from 30 GB and 2 TB, but give unlimited domains and databases with no stated limit, and we didn't see CPU or memory. Reseller plans from 100 GB list unlimited transfer, and the terms ban excessive resource use without giving numbers.
On shared and reseller hosting, a 2020 blog post says you can download full-account JetBackup snapshots from cPanel. VPS specials come with full root access, so you can copy data off yourself. The terms say data is removed as soon as a service is cancelled, so it has to be copied first. Moving a service to another RackNerd account costs a one-time $8.00 fee, and we didn't see a fee for leaving. RackNerd sells domains, but we didn't see how to move one away.
What you get per plan
These numbers come from the shared hosting page. CPU and memory for shared plans weren't on the pages we read; VPS and dedicated plans do list them. Bars compare each row against the largest plan.
| Limit | Shared 30 GB | Shared 100 GB | Shared 200 GB |
|---|---|---|---|
| Storage | 30 GB SSD | 100 GB SSD | 200 GB SSD |
| Transfer per month | 2 TB | 3 TB | 5 TB |
| Domains | Unlimited | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Databases | Unlimited | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| CPU and memory | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Backups | Daily | Daily | Daily |
Tech stack
Best for self-managed VPS and cPanel sites
Hosts are built for different kinds of sites. Here is what RackNerd says it runs, and on which plans. Tech fit is separate from the signal score.
WordPress
SupportedShared plans run cPanel with the Softaculous script installer, LiteSpeed Web Server with LSCache, and free migration from your old host. We didn't see a dedicated WordPress hosting product. On a VPS, the AdminBolt one-click panel manages WordPress sites.
Plans: All shared and reseller plansPHP
SupportedShared hosting runs on cPanel with CloudLinux and LiteSpeed. We didn't see which PHP versions are offered, or whether SSH and Git are available on shared plans.
Plans: All shared and reseller plansNode.js, Python & static sites
VPS plansWe didn't see Node.js or Python described for shared plans. On a VPS, the CloudPanel one-click app hosts PHP, Node.js, Python and static sites with NGINX and free SSL, and needs at least 2 GB of RAM.
Plans: KVM VPSDocker & containers
VPS plansEvery VPS has full root access, so you can install Docker yourself. The ctrl panel offers Portainer for managing containers and Coolify, a self-hosted platform for deploying apps from Git, as one-click apps. The 1 GB KVM special is $21.99/year.
Plans: KVM VPS, from $21.99/yearSelf-hosted AI apps
VPS plansThe AI VPS page lists one-click installs for Ollama, n8n, AnythingLLM, LibreChat, OpenClaw and Hermes Agent, each with a stated minimum, such as 2 vCPU and 4 GB RAM for Ollama. You bring your own API keys where an app needs one.
Plans: KVM VPS, 2 GB to 8 GBSales practices
Worth a closer look
We check five common sales practices and note them next to the score, without changing it. Two need a pass through checkout, which this scan didn't do. We'll add them on the next recheck.
- Noticed"Unlimited" without a stated limit. Shared plans list unlimited domains and databases, and reseller plans from 100 GB list unlimited transfer, with no number given. The terms ban excessive resource use without stating a limit.
- Not checked yetAdd-ons ticked for you at checkout. This scan didn't go through checkout.
- Not checked yetPrices that change at the payment step. The pages don't name the currency or say whether tax is added. We didn't check the final checkout total.
- Not noticedCountdown timers that reset. No timers on the pages we read. A promotions banner says "While available", and one 10Gbps server is labelled a limited-time special.
- Not noticedReviews with no source. We didn't see customer reviews or testimonials. Inc. 5000 rankings for 2024 to 2026 are listed and linked to the Inc. profile.
Questions to ask RackNerd
Each partly clear or unseen signal leaves a question that the website didn't answer for us. RackNerd's support can probably answer them before you buy.
- Who runs itWhat is RackNerd LLC's Delaware company registration number?
- Fair termsDo services renew automatically, and how much notice do you give before a price change?
- Data locationDo you offer a GDPR data processing agreement for EU customers?
- BackupsDo you sell backups or snapshots for KVM VPS plans, and at what price?
- Easy exitHow do I move a domain registered with RackNerd to another registrar?
Pages we read
24 pages · all read 21 Oct 2026- racknerd.com
- racknerd.com/specials
- racknerd.com/kvm-vps
- racknerd.com/ryzen-vps
- racknerd.com/ai-vps
- racknerd.com/shared-hosting
- racknerd.com/reseller-hosting
- racknerd.com/dedicated-servers
- racknerd.com/10gbps-unmetered-servers
- racknerd.com/ctrl-control-panel
- racknerd.com/datacenters
- racknerd.com/about
- racknerd.com/contact-us
- racknerd.com/terms-of-service
- racknerd.com/service-level-agreement
- racknerd.com/privacy-policy
- status.racknerd.com
- help · knowledge base
- help · two-factor login
- blog · JetBackup for shared and reseller
- blog · downloading and restoring JetBackup backups
- blog · 30-day backup retention
- blog · backing up a VPS
- blog · opening a support ticket
This report covers what RackNerd publishes, as read by an AI. It can miss things or misread a page. We didn't host a test site, so it says nothing about real speed or how helpful support feels.