Every web hosting and WordPress plan shows its renewal price under the intro price. Web Hosting Plus is $1/mo for the first year, then $14/mo. The other web hosting plans roughly double at renewal, for example Essential goes from $4/mo to $8/mo. Intro prices come with a 1-year term, and the pages say state and local sales taxes may apply. The VPS page shows a $2/mo price for the first 3 months of a 1-year term, but we didn't see a labelled renewal price there.
Web hosting review
IONOS
IONOS shows renewal prices next to intro prices, runs a public status page with incident history, and explains account security, backups and domain transfers in its help center. Things were harder to pin down from the website alone: support response times, the limits behind "unlimited", auto-renewal rules for hosting, and a GDPR data processing agreement. Our scan couldn't open the general terms and privacy policy pages.
- Website
- ionos.com
- You sign with
- IONOS Inc., Philadelphia, USA
- Founded · based
- 1988 · Germany
All ten signals at a glance
4 clear × 10 + 6 partly clear × 5 + 0 not seen × 0 = 70 / 100
Price over time
Most plans renew at about twice the intro price, Plus at 14 times
This is common in hosting, and IONOS shows both prices on its plan cards. Intro prices come with a 1-year term. Monthly prices in US dollars, before state and local sales taxes, from ionos.com/hosting/web-hosting on 19 Oct 2026.
Assumes the listed $14/mo renewal price for 12 months. Actual renewal prices and terms may change.
Key pages, in brief
Our summary of each page. Open the link to see the original.- 1-year term at the intro price
- State and local sales taxes may apply
- 30-day money-back guarantee
- Past incidents listed by day, with a history page
- RSS, Atom and email updates
- All systems operational when we looked
- Restore files yourself from your account
- Restored files go to a separate folder
- No restore fee mentioned
What we found
Each finding links to the IONOS page it came from. Prices are the US-dollar prices on ionos.com, before state and local sales taxes.
The About page names IONOS Inc., at Two Logan Square, 100 N 18th St., Suite 400, Philadelphia, PA 19103, and IONOS CLOUD Inc. in Newark, Delaware. It says IONOS started as 1&1 in 1988, is based in Germany, and belongs to the United Internet group, with IONOS Group SE listed on the stock market since 2023. The site footer reads "© 2026 IONOS Inc." and the terms link is labelled IONOS Inc. We didn't see a company registration number, and our scan couldn't open the general terms page to confirm the contracting entity.
A public status page tracks hosting, WordPress hosting, VPS, cloud, email, domains, login, billing and support tools. It lists past incidents day by day, with resolution times, and links to a full incident history and RSS feed. All systems were operational when we looked. It doesn't show uptime percentages. The hosting and VPS pages promise 99.99% uptime.
The contact page lists 24/7 support by phone and live chat, plus the Help Center, with a US number (+1-484-424-7392) and numbers for 11 other countries. Hosting plans include a free personal consultant. When we looked, live chat on the contact page was marked "Temporarily unavailable". A help article lists what support covers, and says things like malware cleanup, backup restores and migrations are paid services. We didn't see stated response times.
Hosting, server and mail packages come with a 30-day money-back guarantee. The guarantee terms list what is excluded, such as domains, SSL certificates, add-ons, and usage-billed cloud and bare metal servers, and say the refund covers the setup fee and the first billing cycle. You can cancel online in your account or by phone. The help center mentions a minimum term and notice period, but we didn't see the actual notice periods or the auto-renewal rules for hosting. Domains renew automatically by default. We didn't see a refund option after the first 30 days.
Linux web hosting gets a daily backup, kept for 14 days. You can restore files yourself from your account during that time. We didn't see a fee for self-service restores, though a separate Backup & Restore Service done by IONOS staff has no price listed. You can't download the automatic backups, but a help article explains how to download your own copies of files and databases. VPS backups are an optional Cloud Backup add-on from $0.065/GB per month.
Every web hosting and WordPress plan includes a wildcard SSL certificate. All plans include malware protection, and the top plans add automatic malware repair. Your IONOS account supports two-factor login with an authenticator app or the IONOS mobile app.
The cloud data centres page names cities in Germany, France, the UK, Spain and the US. The VPS page lists US, UK, Germany and Spain as locations. The cloud data protection page says you can choose a location where the product is available, but we didn't see this for web hosting. That page also mentions a data processing agreement and the GDPR, but we didn't see where to get the agreement, and our scan couldn't open the privacy policy.
Web hosting plans list storage (100 to 500 GB), databases, email and a file limit of 262,144 inodes. CPU is shown as a priority level (1X to 10X), and we didn't see RAM or CPU cores for web hosting. WordPress plans list shared RAM of up to 9 to 20 GB. Websites and traffic are "unlimited" with no stated limit, and one section says "up to unlimited storage" next to plans with fixed storage. VPS plans give full numbers, from 1 vCore, 2 GB RAM and 60 GB NVMe.
Help articles explain how to download your files over SFTP or SSH and export databases with phpMyAdmin, and how to export a WordPress site. To move a domain, you turn off the transfer lock and show the authorization code in your account, with the usual 60-day wait after registration for .com and similar domains. We didn't see a fee for moving a domain away.
What you get per plan
Limits come from the web hosting pricing page. Backup details come from IONOS's help article on restoring files. Bars compare each row against the largest plan.
| Limit | Essential | Plus | Ultimate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Storage | 100 GB NVMe SSD | 350 GB | 500 GB |
| CPU priority | Basic (1X) | High (5X) | Maximum (10X) |
| Memory | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Databases | 10 | 250 | 500 |
| Websites | Unlimited, no limit stated | Unlimited, no limit stated | Unlimited, no limit stated |
| Traffic | Unlimited, no limit stated | Unlimited, no limit stated | Unlimited, no limit stated |
| Backups | Daily, kept 14 days | Daily, kept 14 days | Daily, kept 14 days |
Tech stack
Best for WordPress and PHP sites
Hosts are built for different kinds of sites. Here is what IONOS says it runs, and on which plans. Tech fit is separate from the signal score.
WordPress
Best fitManaged WordPress plans with automatic updates, vulnerability and malware scans, and Jetpack backups on the higher plans. Each plan hosts one site. The plan table lists PHP 7.4 to 8.2, while the feature text says PHP 8.2 to 8.4.
Plans: WordPress Start, Grow, BoostPHP
Best fitWeb hosting lists PHP 8.4, 8.3 and 8.2, with paid extended support for older versions. You can set a different PHP version per domain. SSH, SFTP, WP-CLI and Git are included.
Plans: All web hosting plansStatic sites & JS frameworks
SupportedDeploy Now builds and deploys from GitHub, with Hugo, Jekyll, Gatsby, Next.js, Nuxt, React, Vue and Angular named. A free plan is offered. The page says it doesn't support Node.js server-side rendering.
Plans: Deploy Now, from $0Python
SupportedWeb hosting lists "Perl and Python" among its advanced features. We didn't see versions or how Python apps are run.
Plans: All web hosting plansNode.js
VPS plansWe didn't see server-side Node.js on web hosting. On a VPS you get full root access and install it yourself.
Plans: VPS, from VPS S+Docker & self-hosted apps
VPS plansVPS plans include root access, Linux or Windows Server, and one-click apps such as n8n with Docker, Vaultwarden, Immich and Open WebUI. The smallest VPS has 1 vCore, 2 GB RAM and 60 GB NVMe. Managed Kubernetes is offered on IONOS Cloud.
Plans: VPS, from VPS S+Sales practices
Worth a closer look
We check five common sales practices and note them next to the score, without changing it. Two need a pass through checkout, which this scan didn't do. We'll add them on the next recheck.
- Noticed"Unlimited" without a stated limit. Websites and traffic are listed as unlimited with no stated limit. One section says "up to unlimited storage" while plans list 100 to 500 GB.
- Not checked yetAdd-ons ticked for you at checkout. This scan didn't go through checkout.
- Not checked yetPrices that change at the payment step. Pages say state and local sales taxes may apply. We didn't check the final checkout total.
- Not noticedCountdown timers that reset. No timers on the pages we read. Plan cards show savings of up to 94% against struck-through prices.
- Not noticedReviews with no source. We didn't see testimonials. Partner logos are shown, and support is called "award-winning" without naming the award.
Questions to ask IONOS
Each partly clear or unseen signal leaves a question that the website didn't answer for us. IONOS's support can probably answer them before you buy.
- Reachable supportHow fast does support reply by phone and live chat?
- Fair termsDoes my hosting plan renew automatically, and what notice do I need to give to cancel?
- BackupsWhat does the Backup & Restore Service cost?
- Data locationWhere is my web hosting stored, and how do I get a data processing agreement?
- Real specsWhat RAM and CPU does each web hosting plan get, and what limits apply to "unlimited" traffic?
Pages we read
25 pages · all read 19 Oct 2026- ionos.com
- ionos.com/hosting/web-hosting
- ionos.com/hosting/wordpress-hosting
- ionos.com/servers/vps
- ionos.com/hosting/deploy-now
- ionos.com/about
- ionos.com/contact
- terms · money-back guarantee
- ionos-status.com
- cloud.ionos.com
- cloud.ionos.com/data-centers
- cloud.ionos.com/protection
- help · notice periods
- help · cancelling a contract
- help · automatic domain renewal
- help · restoring files
- help · manual backups
- help · Backup & Restore Service
- help · two-factor authentication
- help · authenticator app
- help · transferring a domain out
- help · exporting WordPress
- help · PHP versions
- help · scope of support
- help · GDPR checklist
This report covers what IONOS publishes, as read by an AI. It can miss things or misread a page. We didn't host a test site, so it says nothing about real speed or how helpful support feels.