Web hosting review

HostPapa

HostPapa explains its refund and cancellation rules, support channels, per-plan resources and how to leave clearly, and runs a public status page with recent incidents. Renewal prices are on a separate page rather than on the plan cards. Harder to pin down were a company registration number, two-factor login for the account, a customer data processing agreement, and what backups you keep after the first year.

You sign with
HostPapa, Inc., Canada
Founded · based
2006 · Burlington, Ontario, Canada (privacy policy address)

All ten signals at a glance

5 clear × 10 + 5 partly clear × 5 + 0 not seen × 0 = 75 / 100

Price over time

Shared hosting renews at 2.4 to 3 times the intro price

This is common in hosting. HostPapa's plan cards show only the intro price, and the renewal prices are on a separate renewal pricing page. Intro prices need a 3-year term paid upfront, and the renewal prices shown here are the 3-year rates. Monthly prices in US dollars, without tax, from hostpapa.com/web-hosting-plan and hostpapa.com/renewal-pricing on 21 Oct 2026.

Intro price vs renewal price, per monthIntroRenewal
Essentials
$2.95$8.99
3.0×
Growth
$5.95$13.99
2.4×
Premium
$6.95$19.99
2.9×
Elite
$9.95$27.99
2.8×
$0$10$20$30$40
Essentials over six years
First 36 months, intro price$106.20
Next 36 months, renewal price$323.64

Assumes the listed $8.99/mo 3-year renewal price, which the renewal page shows as $323.64 for the term. On a 1-year renewal, Essentials is $10.99/mo. The plan page also mentions a free trial period for Essentials on some terms, which isn't counted here. Actual renewal prices and terms may change.

What we found

Each finding links to the HostPapa page it came from. Prices are the US-dollar prices on hostpapa.com, without tax, which the renewal pricing page says is not included.

An AI read HostPapa's public pages to write these findings. When something is partly clear or not seen, it may be explained on a page we didn't read, or our scan may have missed it.
Price

Honest pricing

Partly clear · 5 pts

Plan cards show the intro price with "renews at regular rate" and a link, but not the renewal amount. A separate renewal pricing page lists every rate in US dollars, excluding taxes. Essentials is $2.95/mo on a 3-year term paid upfront, and renews at $8.99/mo on a 3-year term or $12.99/mo billed monthly. The plan page says the promotional price is for new customers' first term only. We didn't see a tax note on the plan cards themselves.

People

Who runs it

Partly clear · 5 pts

The footer and terms name HostPapa, Inc., and the terms are governed by the laws of Ontario, Canada. The privacy policy gives an address at 5063 North Service Road, Suite 102, Burlington, Ontario. A help article says Jamie Opalchuk founded HostPapa in Burlington in 2006. The contact page lists mailing addresses in Canada, the US, the UK, Germany and Australia, without saying which is the head office. We didn't see a company registration number on the pages we read.

Problems

Uptime in public

Clear · 10 pts

A public status page, linked from the Customer Care Center, tracks 18 components, from shared, WordPress, VPS and dedicated hosting to email, the dashboard and the phone, chat and ticket systems. All were operational when we looked. It lists recent incidents with updates, such as payment gateway issues fixed on 18 Oct 2026 and emergency maintenance on named servers and data centres. The terms promise reasonable efforts to keep hosting available 99.9% of the time each month, excluding scheduled maintenance. We didn't see service credits for downtime in the terms.

People

Reachable support

Clear · 10 pts

Phone, live chat and email support are listed as available 24/7, and tickets are opened from the dashboard. The US toll-free number is 1-888-959-PAPA (7272), and the contact page lists numbers for 16 countries. A help article from 2022 says tickets are typically answered within a few hours. The web hosting page states an average response time under 5 minutes, without naming the channel. The service guarantee page mentions phone and chat support in multiple languages, without listing them.

Price

Fair terms

Clear · 10 pts

Web hosting, VPS, WordPress and reseller plans get a full refund of first-term fees if you cancel within 30 days of the first purchase. Domains, SSL certificates, migration and managed services are among the exclusions, and a free domain's current rate is taken off the refund. You cancel with the form in the dashboard, and billing confirms within 3 to 5 business days; refunds are paid within 90 days. Plans renew automatically at then-current rates, and the refund policy promises at least 15 days' notice, while the terms ask for written notice 30 days before the term ends. The refund policy says renewals count as new transactions, with 30 days to cancel for terms of a year or longer.

Data

Backups you can use

Partly clear · 5 pts

Shared and Optimized WordPress plans include Automated Website Backup free for the first year, from 1 GB on Essentials to 10 GB on Elite, and some sizes only come with certain terms. The backup page says it runs every 24 hours, keeps seven restore points, and lets you restore or download a ZIP of your site yourself; it renews from $47.99 a year. Without it, the page says shared hosting only has server-level backups for hardware recovery. We didn't see whether a restore costs extra, and a 2021 help article says restoring a full cPanel backup needs a support ticket. VPS plans don't list backups, and Managed VPS offers Acronis daily backups as an add-on.

Data

Security basics

Partly clear · 5 pts

Shared plans include a standard SSL certificate, and a 2021 help article says customers get free Let's Encrypt certificates that renew every 90 days. Premium and Elite include a premium single or wildcard SSL. Malware protection uses Imunify360, basic on Essentials and advanced on Growth and up, free for the full term. Two-factor login is described for webmail and WordPress, but we didn't see it for the HostPapa Dashboard account. The login article mentions signing in with Facebook, Twitter or Google instead of a password.

Data

Data location

Partly clear · 5 pts

The data centre page names five locations: Toronto, Los Angeles, Buffalo, Miami and Amsterdam. It says you can choose a location that fits your regulatory needs, and the VPS page says you pick one at checkout, but we didn't see how this works for shared plans. The Managed VPS page mentions data centres in Asia, which the data centre page doesn't list. The privacy policy names HostPapa as a controller under GDPR, says data is mainly kept in Canada, and gives a DPO email address. We didn't see a data processing agreement for customers on the pages we read.

AmericasCanada: TorontoUSA: Los AngelesUSA: BuffaloUSA: Miami
EuropeNetherlands: Amsterdam
Product

Real specs

Clear · 10 pts

The web hosting page and a resource chart updated in January 2026 give numbers per plan. Essentials has 25 GB NVMe storage, 1 CPU core, 1,024 MB memory, 150,000 inodes and a 500 MB database limit; Elite has 8 cores, 2,048 MB memory and 600,000 inodes. Elite lists "unmetered" storage and Premium and Elite list unlimited websites, and the usage policy says these plans have no stated limit on disk space or bandwidth. We didn't see a bandwidth figure for shared plans, and one part of the page shows Elite with 4 cores instead of 8. VPS plans list vCPU, RAM, NVMe storage and transfer: Lite has 1 vCPU, 1 GB RAM, 25 GB and 4 TB.

Product

Easy exit

Clear · 10 pts

cPanel's Backup Wizard lets you make full or partial backups of your files and databases and download them, and Automated Website Backup offers a ZIP download. To move a domain away, you unlock it, turn off Whois privacy and send the EPP code from the dashboard; .NZ, .MX and .UK domains need a support ticket. We didn't see a fee for moving a domain away, but a free domain's current rate is taken off any refund. The refund policy says files and email may be removed as soon as a cancellation is processed, so you need to download them first.

What you get per plan

These numbers come from the web hosting page and HostPapa's resource usage chart, last updated in January 2026. Backup storage is free for the first year only. Bars compare each row against the largest plan.

LimitEssentialsGrowthPremium
Storage
25 GB NVMe
100 GB NVMe
200 GB NVMe
Websites15Unlimited
CPU cores
1
2
4
Memory
1,024 MB
1,024 MB
1,024 MB
Inodes
150,000
300,000
450,000
BandwidthNot statedNot statedNot stated
Backups (first year)
1 GB
5 GB
5 GB

Tech stack

Best for WordPress and PHP sites

Hosts are built for different kinds of sites. Here is what HostPapa says it runs, and on which plans. Tech fit is separate from the signal score.

Best fit: tools built for it on regular plansSupported: runs on some plans, with limitsVPS plans: you set it up yourself on a server

WordPress

Best fit

Optimized WordPress plans use the same resources as shared hosting, with WordPress pre-installed, WP Toolkit, staging from WP Growth and free migration. Managed WordPress starts at $14.95/mo with nightly offsite backups and automatic updates, and allows non-interactive SSH with a key.

Plans: Optimized and Managed WordPress

PHP

Best fit

A help article updated in October 2026 lists PHP 5.6 up to 8.5, chosen per account in cPanel. Git Version Control is in cPanel, and Softaculous installs PHP apps such as Joomla and Drupal. A help article from October 2026 says SSH isn't available on shared hosting.

Plans: All shared plans

Node.js

VPS plans

The Managed VPS page says root access lets you run Node.js apps. We didn't see Node.js on the shared or WordPress plan pages, or a setup guide in the help center.

Plans: Managed VPS, from Progress

Python

VPS plans

A 2021 help article says Python on HostPapa accounts is limited to cron jobs and that web frameworks aren't supported. On a VPS you install Python apps yourself, and the "Setup Python App" tool needs a separate CloudLinux license.

Plans: VPS plans

Docker & containers

VPS plans

Unmanaged VPS plans give root access with AlmaLinux, Ubuntu or Debian, and the page names installing Docker as a use case. Docker isn't listed as a feature. The smallest plan, Lite, has 1 vCPU, 1 GB RAM and 25 GB NVMe for $2.95/mo on a 3-year term.

Plans: Unmanaged VPS, from Lite

Sales practices

Worth a closer look

We check five common sales practices and note them next to the score, without changing it. Two need a pass through checkout, which this scan didn't do. We'll add them on the next recheck.

  • Noticed
    "Unlimited" without a stated limit. Premium and Elite list unlimited websites and subdomains, and Elite lists unmetered storage. The usage policy says these plans have no stated limit on disk space or bandwidth, though the resource chart caps CPU, memory and inodes per plan. It may be published somewhere we didn't look.
  • Not checked yet
    Add-ons ticked for you at checkout. This scan didn't go through checkout.
  • Not checked yet
    Prices that change at the payment step. The renewal pricing page says prices exclude applicable taxes, and intro prices need the full 3-year term paid upfront. We didn't check the final checkout total.
  • Not noticed
    Countdown timers that reset. No timers on the pages we read. Plan cards carry "Save 77%" style labels, without an end date.
  • Noticed
    Reviews with no source. The web hosting page shows named customer quotes without a date or a link to where they came from. Rating badges are labelled Trustpilot, ShopperApproved and WPBeginner, and Trustpilot shows as 4.8/5 in one place and 4.7/5 in another.

Questions to ask HostPapa

Each partly clear or unseen signal leaves a question that the website didn't answer for us. HostPapa's support can probably answer them before you buy.

  • Honest pricingCould renewal prices be shown on the plan cards?
  • Who runs itWhat is HostPapa, Inc.'s registration number and registered office?
  • BackupsWhat backups are kept after the free first year, and do restores cost extra?
  • Security basicsCan I turn on two-factor login for the HostPapa Dashboard?
  • Data locationIs there a data processing agreement for customers under GDPR?