Web hosting review

HostGator

HostGator explains its refund rules, backups, security basics and outage history clearly, and its help center has a full chart of regular renewal prices. Some things were harder to pin down: intro prices on the shared, WordPress and dedicated pages did not load for our reader, the VPS page and the price chart show very different renewal prices, and we didn't see support response times or a company registration number.

You sign with
HostGator.com, LLC, USA (Texas law)
Founded · based
2002 · Location not seen on the pages we read

All ten signals at a glance

4 clear × 10 + 6 partly clear × 5 + 0 not seen × 0 = 70 / 100

What we found

Each finding links to the HostGator page it came from. Prices are the US-dollar prices on hostgator.com, without VAT.

An AI read HostGator's public pages to write these findings. When something is partly clear or not seen, it may be explained on a page we didn't read, or our scan may have missed it.
Price

Honest pricing

Partly clear · 5 pts

On the shared, WordPress and dedicated pages, prices showed as blank placeholders ("$X.XX/mo", "Renews at $XX") for our reader, so we couldn't see intro prices there. The VPS page shows both: NVMe 2 is $2.09/mo for a 24-month term and renews at $4.68/mo. A help center price chart lists regular renewal prices for every plan, such as Hatchling at $10.99/mo on a 3-year term and $17.59/mo month to month. That chart lists the NVMe 4 VPS at $53.99/mo on a 2-year term, while the VPS page says it renews at $9.35/mo. The pages say VAT is not included in advertised prices.

People

Who runs it

Partly clear · 5 pts

The terms name the company you sign with as HostGator.com, LLC, under the laws of Texas. The contact page says HostGator LLC is an indirect subsidiary of Newfold Digital, Inc., and gives a registrar address in Jacksonville, Florida. The About page says HostGator started in 2002 and mentions its Austin and Houston communities, but doesn't name a head office. We didn't see a registered address for the hosting company or a company registration number on the pages we read.

Problems

Uptime in public

Clear · 10 pts

A public status page tracks 7 components, including Hosting, Email, DNS/Domains and the Account Manager. Each component has a history page listing past incidents and maintenance, such as a "Hosting Outage" closed on 12 Aug and a "VPS Hosting issue" closed on 25 Jul. The history pages show no uptime percentages, although the status page FAQ mentions them. The shared hosting page mentions a 99% uptime guarantee, while the terms say HostGator doesn't guarantee uninterrupted service.

People

Reachable support

Partly clear · 5 pts

Support is offered 24/7/365 by phone and live chat, with US toll-free and international numbers listed. The Hatchling shared plan gets chat support only. The other shared plans and the WordPress plans add phone support. The VPS page says 24/7 priority support is not included with self-managed VPS plans. We didn't see stated response or wait times for chat or phone.

Price

Fair terms

Partly clear · 5 pts

You can get your hosting fees back if you cancel within the first 30 days, on shared, WordPress, VPS and dedicated plans, when you paid by credit card or PayPal. Domains, monthly-term services, setup fees and add-ons such as SiteLock are excluded, and the terms say there are no refunds after 30 days. Plans renew automatically, and you stop renewal yourself in the Renewal Center at least 15 days before the renewal date (5 days for monthly plans). If a free domain came with your plan, a domain fee is taken from the refund. The pages we read give this fee as $15.00, $17.99 or $22.99, so the amount wasn't clear to us.

Data

Backups you can use

Clear · 10 pts

Shared plans get daily, weekly and monthly backups, and managed WordPress plans get weekly backups, for accounts under 20 GB and 100,000 inodes. Only one week of backups is kept at a time. Restoring from HostGator's backups costs $49. You can make and download a full backup yourself in cPanel, up to 10 GB on shared plans. HostGator doesn't back up self-managed VPS or Linux dedicated servers, and the terms ask everyone to keep their own backups.

Data

Security basics

Clear · 10 pts

Every shared plan includes a free Let's Encrypt SSL certificate and malware detection and removal, described as AI-powered from the Baby plan up. The WordPress plans list malware scanning too. Your customer account supports two-factor login with a code sent to your account email. We didn't see an authenticator app option.

Data

Data location

Partly clear · 5 pts

Most servers are in Provo, Utah and Atlanta, Georgia, with some in other locations that aren't named. The help article says you can't choose which data centre your server is in. The terms say HostGator acts as your processor under the GDPR and link to a data processing addendum hosted on web.com, which we didn't read. We didn't see mention of EU standard contractual clauses on the pages we read.

AmericasUSA: Provo, UtahUSA: Atlanta, Georgia
Product

Real specs

Partly clear · 5 pts

Storage and website counts are on the shared plan page, from 10 GB and 10 websites on Hatchling. A help article on account limits adds database and file limits, a CPU cap of 25% per account and 25 processes. We didn't see memory figures for shared plans, and the WordPress page lists 2 to 5 vCPUs without RAM. Bandwidth is "unmetered", with a stated rule against using 25% or more of system resources for over 90 seconds. VPS and dedicated pages give full CPU, RAM and NVMe storage numbers per plan.

Product

Easy exit

Clear · 10 pts

You can make a full backup of your files, email and databases in cPanel and download it as a .tar.gz file, or fetch it over FTP or SSH. A help article walks through moving a domain away: unlock it in the portal, get the EPP code, and approve the transfer. New domains can't move to another registrar for 60 days. We didn't see a fee for transferring a domain away.

What you get per plan

Storage and websites come from the shared hosting page. Databases, files and CPU come from HostGator's help article on account limits. Bars compare each row against the largest plan.

LimitHatchlingBabyBusiness
Storage
10 GB SSD
20 GB SSD
50 GB SSD
Websites10 on plan page, 1 in help article2050
MySQL databases
20
40
100
Max files
1,000,000
1,000,000
1,000,000
CPU25% per account25% per account25% per account
MemoryNot statedNot statedNot stated
BandwidthUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered

Tech stack

Best for WordPress and PHP sites

Hosts are built for different kinds of sites. Here is what HostGator says it runs, and on which plans. Tech fit is separate from the signal score.

Best fit: tools built for it on regular plansSupported: runs on some plans, with limitsVPS plans: you set it up yourself on a server

WordPress

Best fit

WordPress plans come with WordPress pre-installed, Cloudflare CDN and malware scanning. Shared plans include one-click installs, caching, WP-CLI and staging.

Plans: WordPress and shared plans

PHP

Best fit

Pick a PHP version per domain in cPanel's MultiPHP Manager, from 8.1 up to 8.3. Shared plans include jailed SSH access and the Git client.

Plans: All shared plans

Python

Supported

Shared servers run Python scripts through CGI, with Python 3.9 on AlmaLinux 9 servers. Django on shared plans needs FastCGI. On VPS and dedicated servers you can build newer Python versions yourself.

Plans: Shared, VPS and dedicated

Node.js

VPS plans

HostGator says Node.js can't be installed on shared or reseller plans. On VPS and dedicated servers, support can install it for you, and the VPS page lists a one-click OpenLiteSpeed and Node.js option.

Plans: VPS and dedicated

Docker & containers

VPS plans

Self-managed VPS plans come with full root access over SSH and mention deploying with Docker and Compose. The smallest VPS has 1 vCPU, 2 GB RAM and 50 GB NVMe. cPanel is not included.

Plans: VPS, from NVMe 2

Static sites

Supported

Plain HTML and server-side includes run on all shared and VPS plans.

Plans: All plans

Sales practices

Worth a closer look

We check five common sales practices and note them next to the score, without changing it. Two need a pass through checkout, which this scan didn't do. We'll add them on the next recheck.

  • Noticed
    "Unlimited" without a stated limit. FTP accounts, addon domains and email aliases are listed as unlimited without a stated limit. Bandwidth is "unmetered", but here the page does state a resource rule.
  • Not checked yet
    Add-ons ticked for you at checkout. This scan didn't go through checkout.
  • Not checked yet
    Prices that change at the payment step. Listed prices exclude VAT. The Black Friday page shows shared and VPS prices as "See price at checkout". We didn't check the final checkout total.
  • Not noticed
    Countdown timers that reset. No timers on the pages we read. The homepage ran an "extra 20% off" banner linking to a Black Friday page in mid-October.
  • Not noticed
    Reviews with no source. We didn't see testimonials on the pages we read. The homepage links to Trustpilot, and its customer figures are labelled as internal data from May 2020.

Questions to ask HostGator

Each partly clear or unseen signal leaves a question that the website didn't answer for us. HostGator's support can probably answer them before you buy.

  • Honest pricingMy VPS plan page says it renews at $9.35/mo, but the price chart says $53.99/mo. Which one applies?
  • Reachable supportHow quickly can I expect a reply by chat or phone?
  • Real specsHow much memory does each shared and WordPress plan get?
  • Data locationDoes your data processing addendum include EU standard contractual clauses?
  • Who runs itWhat is HostGator.com, LLC's registered address and registration number?
  • Fair termsHow much is the domain fee taken from a refund: $15.00, $17.99 or $22.99?