Web hosting review

Fasthosts

Fasthosts shows intro and renewal prices side by side on its plan cards, runs a public status page with past incidents, and spells out its 30-day money-back terms. Several things were harder to pin down: whether listed prices include VAT, a company registration number, backup frequency and retention, two-factor login, and how to move a domain or site away. The help centre loads with JavaScript, and we couldn't read its articles.

You sign with
Fasthosts Internet Limited, United Kingdom
Founded · based
1998 · Gloucester, United Kingdom

All ten signals at a glance

1 clear × 10 + 9 partly clear × 5 + 0 not seen × 0 = 55 / 100

Price over time

Web hosting rises from about £1/mo to £5.75–£20.50/mo after the intro months

This is common in hosting, and Fasthosts shows both prices on its plan cards. Intro prices last 3 months on Start, Scale and Pro and 12 months on Grow, and the general terms set a 12-month minimum term unless the confirmation email says otherwise. Monthly prices in pounds sterling from fasthosts.co.uk/web-hosting on 21 Oct 2026. The page has a "Show UK VAT pricing" switch, and we couldn't confirm whether these prices include VAT.

Intro price vs renewal price, per monthIntroRenewal
Start
£1.00£5.75
5.8×
Grow
£0.99£8.00
8.1×
Scale
£1.00£13.75
13.8×
Pro
£1.00£20.50
20.5×
£0£5£10£15£20£25
Start over six months
First 3 months, intro price£3.00
Next 3 months, renewal price£17.25

Assumes the listed £5.75/mo price for the 3 months after the intro period. Grow is 99p/mo for 12 months, then £8/mo. Actual prices and terms may change.

What we found

Each finding links to the Fasthosts page it came from. Prices are the pound sterling prices on fasthosts.co.uk; the plan pages have a "Show UK VAT pricing" switch, and we couldn't confirm whether the default prices include VAT.

An AI read Fasthosts's public pages to write these findings. When something is partly clear or not seen, it may be explained on a page we didn't read, or our scan may have missed it.
Price

Honest pricing

Partly clear · 5 pts

Every web hosting plan card shows the intro price and the price after it: Start is £1/mo for 3 months, then £5.75/mo, and Grow is 99p/mo for 12 months, then £8/mo. WordPress and VPS plans show the same pattern, such as VPS 1 at £2/mo for 3 months against a listed £5/mo. The web hosting page says there's "no upfront annual payment", while the general terms (clause 3.3) set a 12-month minimum term unless the confirmation email says otherwise. The plan pages have a "Show UK VAT pricing" switch and a VAT line that swaps between "exclude" and "include VAT at 20%", so we couldn't confirm the default. The terms (clause 4.2) say payments are inclusive of applicable taxes, while the domain pages quote fees as "+ VAT".

People

Who runs it

Partly clear · 5 pts

The footer and the general terms name Fasthosts Internet Limited. The contact page gives the address as 2 Cathedral Walk, The Forum, Gloucester, GL1 1AU, and the privacy notice lists the same address for the data controller. We didn't see a company registration number or VAT number on the pages we read, and the address isn't labelled as the registered office. The about page says Fasthosts started in 1998 and was acquired by United Internet in 2006; the privacy notice also mentions IONOS Group SE.

Problems

Uptime in public

Clear · 10 pts

The support page links to a public status page at fasthosts-status.co.uk, which lists components such as web hosting, WordPress hosting, email, DNS and servers, with 90-day uptime. Past incidents and maintenance are listed by date, with a feed going back to August 2026. For example, on 9 Sep 2026 a number of services had a network outage from 23:55 to 00:30, and on 22 Sep 2026 the support hotline couldn't be reached. The Web Hosting and WordPress SLA promises 99.99% monthly availability, with a credit of 5% of the monthly fee per hour of downtime, capped at the month's fee.

People

Reachable support

Partly clear · 5 pts

Phone support on 0333 0142 700 is open 24/7, and live chat runs through the control panel's Get Support page. The contact page says 24/7 support covers the whole product range, and lists a separate sales line without opening hours. The only response time we saw is a reply within 3 working days for emails to registrants@fasthosts.com, which is for people without a Fasthosts account. We didn't see response times for phone, chat or support requests.

Price

Fair terms

Partly clear · 5 pts

Web hosting, WordPress, website builder and email plans have a 30-day money-back guarantee, once per customer, for the initial purchase only. Refunds are minus the list price of any domain, and VPS, dedicated servers and domains are excluded. The general terms say services renew automatically for the same term, that fees are otherwise non-refundable (clause 5.1), and that you must give notice at least 30 days before the renewal date (clause 6.1). Cancelling isn't accepted until Fasthosts confirms it in writing. We didn't see how to give notice: the guarantee terms say to contact the cancellation team, without a contact method.

Data

Backups you can use

Partly clear · 5 pts

The Hosting for WordPress page lists automated backups and says you can "restore and recover all of your database and webspace data", but doesn't give frequency, retention or how a restore works. We didn't see backups on the web hosting plan list. Cyber Protect is a separate paid backup product, with schedules from monthly to every 10 minutes and self-service restores, and it's an optional add-on for VPS and dedicated servers. The general terms (clauses 9.2 and 9.5) say you're responsible for keeping your own backups, and access to Fasthosts' backups is at its discretion.

Data

Security basics

Partly clear · 5 pts

Site Scan checks web pages for malware on every web hosting and WordPress plan, and a Malware Removal Tool is a paid add-on. WordPress plans include free lifetime SSL and WP Scan vulnerability checks, with DDoS protection on Business and Pro. On web hosting, Grow includes two free 1-year SSL certificates and Scale and Pro include lifetime certificates, but we didn't see free SSL on Start. We didn't see two-factor login for the account on the pages we read.

Data

Data location

Partly clear · 5 pts

The data centres page names two UK sites: Worcester, which is Tier IV certified, and London. VPS and dedicated servers can be deployed in the UK, Germany, Spain or the United States, and the Cloud VPS page says you choose where your data lives. Web hosting and WordPress pages mention UK data centres, but not which one or whether you can choose. The general terms (clause 9.7) include a data processing agreement by reference, but we didn't see its text, the processing countries or a sub-processor list.

EuropeUnited Kingdom: WorcesterUnited Kingdom: LondonGermany (VPS and dedicated)Spain (VPS and dedicated)
North AmericaUnited States (VPS and dedicated)
Product

Real specs

Partly clear · 5 pts

Web hosting plans list websites, SSD storage and databases as numbers: Start has 1 site, 100GB and 15 databases of 1GB, and Pro has up to 100 sites and 500GB. We didn't see CPU or memory for web hosting or WordPress plans. Bandwidth is "unlimited" on every plan, and the Acceptable Use Policy (clause 1.3) only asks you not to use "an unreasonable excess", without a number. VPS plans list vCPU, RAM and NVMe storage, from 1 vCPU, 2GB and 60GB on VPS 1.

Product

Easy exit

Partly clear · 5 pts

The domain transfer page says domain transfers "to and from Fasthosts" are free and that "there are no penalties for leaving". We didn't see the steps for moving a domain away, such as getting an auth code or changing a .uk IPS tag. We also didn't see how to download your website files and databases. The general terms say your data is your property, but don't say what happens to it after cancelling. A £20 + VAT domain release fee applies only when a domain registered through a reseller is moved into your own account.

What you get per plan

These numbers come from the web hosting plan table on fasthosts.co.uk. Prices for these plans are £5.75, £8 and £13.75 a month after the intro period. Bars compare each row against the largest plan.

LimitStartGrowScale
SSD storage
100 GB
250 GB
350 GB
Websites
1
Up to 3
Up to 10
Databases (1 GB each)
15
45
150
CPU and memoryNot statedNot statedNot stated
Free SSLNot listed2 × 1-year certificates3 × lifetime certificates
BandwidthUnlimited, no limit statedUnlimited, no limit statedUnlimited, no limit stated
BackupsNot listedNot listedNot listed

Tech stack

Best for WordPress and PHP sites

Hosts are built for different kinds of sites. Here is what Fasthosts says it runs, and on which plans. Tech fit is separate from the signal score.

Best fit: tools built for it on regular plansSupported: runs on some plans, with limitsVPS plans: you set it up yourself on a server

WordPress

Best fit

Hosting for WordPress is described as managed, with automatic updates and backups, WP-CLI, SFTP and SSH access, Site Scan malware checks and WP Scan vulnerability checks. Free migration is included. Launch is £1/mo for 6 months, then £6.99/mo, for 1 site and 10GB NVMe storage.

Plans: Hosting for WordPress, from Launch

PHP

Best fit

Every web hosting plan lists PHP 8.2 and 8.3 with OPcache, phpMyAdmin, MySQL or MSSQL databases and a one-click app installer. SSH is included on Linux hosting, and you can switch between Linux and Windows hosting. We didn't see Git on the pages we read.

Plans: All web hosting plans

Node.js

VPS plans

We didn't see Node.js on the web hosting pages we read. VPS plans give full root access with AlmaLinux, Debian, Rocky Linux or Ubuntu, from £2/mo for 3 months, then £5/mo. The Cloud VPS page mentions running tools such as Node-RED.

Plans: VPS and Cloud VPS

Python

VPS plans

We didn't see Python on the web hosting pages we read. You could run it on a VPS with full root access, or on Cloud VPS, billed per minute from £6/mo at most for 1 vCPU and 2GB RAM.

Plans: VPS and Cloud VPS

Docker & containers

VPS plans

We didn't see Docker or containers on the pages we read. VPS, Cloud VPS and dedicated servers give full root access, and you choose the location on VPS plans: the UK, Germany, Spain or the United States.

Plans: VPS, Cloud VPS and dedicated servers

Sales practices

Worth a closer look

We check five common sales practices and note them next to the score, without changing it. Two need a pass through checkout, which this scan didn't do. We'll add them on the next recheck.

  • Noticed
    "Unlimited" without a stated limit. Web hosting plans list unlimited bandwidth, subdomains and Mail Lite mailboxes, and VPS plans list unlimited traffic. The Acceptable Use Policy asks you not to use "an unreasonable excess" of bandwidth, but we didn't see a number.
  • Not checked yet
    Add-ons ticked for you at checkout. This scan didn't go through checkout.
  • Not checked yet
    Prices that change at the payment step. The plan pages have a "Show UK VAT pricing" switch, and we couldn't confirm whether the default prices include VAT. We didn't check the final checkout total.
  • Not noticed
    Countdown timers that reset. No timers on the pages we read. Plan cards show "Save" percentages of up to 95%, and VPS plans are marked "Limited stock available".
  • Not noticed
    Reviews with no source. The homepage and web hosting page show a Trustpilot rating of 4.8 from 22,233 reviews, with named, dated reviews linked to Trustpilot.

Questions to ask Fasthosts

Each partly clear or unseen signal leaves a question that the website didn't answer for us. Fasthosts's support can probably answer them before you buy.

  • Honest pricingDo the listed prices include VAT, and what term do they need?
  • Who runs itWhat is the company registration number?
  • BackupsHow often are web hosting and WordPress sites backed up, and for how long?
  • Security basicsCan I turn on two-factor login for my account?
  • Easy exitHow do I download my site and move my domain away?