Web hosting review

DreamHost

DreamHost explains its renewal prices, support channels and response times, refund rules and how to leave clearly. A few things were harder to pin down from the website alone: a company registration number, past incidents on the status page, CPU and memory for shared plans, and whether restoring a backup costs extra. Different pages show different terms for the same plan, so the intro price depends on the page you land on.

You sign with
DreamHost, LLC, USA
Founded · based
1997 · Brea, California, USA (correspondence address)

All ten signals at a glance

5 clear × 10 + 5 partly clear × 5 + 0 not seen × 0 = 75 / 100

Price over time

Shared hosting renews at 2.6 to 3.8 times the intro price

This is common in hosting, and DreamHost shows both prices on its plan cards. These intro prices need a 1-year term paid upfront; longer terms are cheaper. Monthly prices in US dollars, without tax, from dreamhost.com/hosting/web-hosting and dreamhost.com/wordpress/managed on 19 Oct 2026.

Intro price vs renewal price, per monthIntroRenewal
Launch
$2.89$10.99
3.8×
Growth
$3.99$12.99
3.3×
Scale
$9.99$25.99
2.6×
DreamPress 1
$14.99$19.99
1.3×
$0$10$20$30
Launch over two years
First year, intro price$34.68
Second year, renewal price$131.88

Assumes the listed $10.99/mo renewal price for 12 months. On the 4-year term, Launch is $1.99/mo and renews at $7.99/mo. Actual renewal prices and terms may change.

What we found

Each finding links to the DreamHost page it came from. Prices are the US-dollar prices on dreamhost.com, without tax, which is added at checkout.

An AI read DreamHost's public pages to write these findings. When something is partly clear or not seen, it may be explained on a page we didn't read, or our scan may have missed it.
Price

Honest pricing

Clear · 10 pts

Every plan card shows the renewal price under the intro price. Web Hosting Launch is $2.89/mo for the first year and renews at $10.99/mo. The page says the full term plus taxes is charged at checkout. A 4-year term lowers Launch to $1.99/mo, renewing at $7.99/mo, and monthly billing keeps the intro rate for three months only. Other pages show other terms for the same plans: the homepage lists Managed VPS Business at $13.75/mo for one year, while the Managed VPS page shows $10/mo on a 3-year term.

People

Who runs it

Partly clear · 5 pts

The footer and legal pages name DreamHost, LLC. The About page says DreamHost is independent and employee-owned, has run since 1997, and names its CEO. It lists a correspondence address in Brea, California (a PMB mailbox), and the terms are governed by California law. We didn't see a company registration number or a registered office address on the pages we read.

Problems

Uptime in public

Partly clear · 5 pts

A public status page, linked from the support page, tracks 20 parts of the service in four groups, from web hosting and DreamPress to billing and live chat. All were operational when we looked. It links to a history page, but we couldn't load it, so we couldn't check past incidents. The terms promise 100% uptime, with one day of hosting credit per hour of downtime, capped at 10% of the next prepaid renewal. Downtime counts from when you open a ticket, and announced maintenance is excluded.

People

Reachable support

Clear · 10 pts

In-house support is available 24/7 by live chat and email from the control panel. The support page says chat starts in under 60 seconds and promises a reply in less than an hour, without saying which channel that applies to; the help article says chat starts within a few minutes. The panel opens an AI assistant first, and you click "Talk to an Agent" to reach a person. There is no call-in number. Callbacks cost $9.95 each or $14.95/mo for three, and some DreamPress and Dedicated plans include them.

Price

Fair terms

Clear · 10 pts

Shared hosting, DreamPress and Managed VPS get a full refund if you cancel within 30 days. Self-managed VPS, DreamCompute, email, domains and SSL certificates are excluded, and the guarantee only covers card and PayPal payments. Plans renew automatically at the then-current non-promotional rate, and you cancel in the panel before the renewal date. After 30 days the terms say unused time isn't refunded. The help article adds that a yearly plan cancelled within 30 days of renewal gets an account credit, and that cash refunds only happen when you close the account.

Data

Backups you can use

Partly clear · 5 pts

Web Hosting and Managed VPS plans list daily automated backups. For shared sites, the help article says DreamHost "generally" keeps two weeks of backups, and you can restore files yourself in the panel. DreamPress keeps daily backups for 14 days (30 days from DP5 up), plus 3 to 5 on-demand backups you can download. Self-managed VPS plans don't include backups. We didn't see whether a restore costs extra.

Data

Security basics

Clear · 10 pts

Hosting plans list unlimited free SSL certificates, and DreamPress installs a Let's Encrypt certificate automatically. Panel login supports two-factor login with an authenticator app or a YubiKey. Malware scanning is DreamShield, which scans daily. It is a paid add-on from $3/mo per site, and the help center says DreamPress Pro plans include it.

Data

Data location

Partly clear · 5 pts

The help center names four data centres: Ashburn, Hillsboro, Amsterdam and Singapore. You can see where your services are in the panel and ask support to move them. We didn't see whether you can pick a location at sign-up, or which products run in which data centre. A GDPR data processing addendum is part of the terms, with EU standard contractual clauses and a UK addendum. It says data may be processed anywhere in the world.

AmericasUSA: Ashburn, VirginiaUSA: Hillsboro, Oregon
EuropeNetherlands: Amsterdam
AsiaSingapore
Product

Real specs

Partly clear · 5 pts

Shared and DreamPress plans list storage, websites and monthly visits. Launch has 25 GB NVMe storage, 25 websites and about 40,000 visits, which the page calls estimates, not hard caps. We didn't see CPU or memory for shared or DreamPress plans. VPS plans do list them: Stack 4 has 2 vCPU, 4 GB RAM and 75 GB NVMe. Bandwidth is "unmetered", and the Resource Allocation Policy says it may be limited during unusual spikes and caps shared databases at 3 GB.

Product

Easy exit

Clear · 10 pts

From the panel you can back up the whole account: users, databases and mailboxes. The backup comes as standard .tar.gz and .sql.gz files you can download for 14 days. To move a domain, you turn off the transfer lock and reveal the auth code in the panel, with the usual 60-day wait after registration or transfer. We didn't see a fee for moving a domain away.

What you get per plan

These numbers come from the Web Hosting pricing page. CPU and memory for shared plans weren't on the pages we read; VPS and Managed VPS plans do list them. Bars compare each row against the largest plan.

LimitLaunchGrowthScale
Storage
25 GB NVMe
50 GB NVMe
100 GB NVMe
Websites
25
50
100
Monthly visits (estimate)
40,000
200,000
400,000
Mailboxes (3-month trial)
20
40
60
CPU and memoryNot statedNot statedNot stated
BandwidthUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
BackupsDailyDailyDaily

Tech stack

Best for WordPress and PHP sites

Hosts are built for different kinds of sites. Here is what DreamHost says it runs, and on which plans. Tech fit is separate from the signal score.

Best fit: tools built for it on regular plansSupported: runs on some plans, with limitsVPS plans: you set it up yourself on a server

WordPress

Best fit

Web Hosting plans are sold as WordPress hosting. DreamPress adds managed WordPress with a staging site per website, server caching, Bunny CDN and free professional migration. DreamPress gives SFTP and optional SSH, but no root or sudo.

Plans: All Web Hosting plans and DreamPress

PHP

Best fit

PHP 8.2 to 8.5 are supported. Older versions can still be picked, but may add PHP Extended Support charges. Shell (SSH) access and Git are available to all customers.

Plans: All plans

Node.js

Supported

Node.js runs on Managed VPS and Dedicated servers, not on shared plans. Apps run behind a proxy set up in the panel, because they can't bind to ports 80 or 443. You install the Node.js version yourself.

Plans: Managed VPS, from Business

Python

Supported

Python is installed on all DreamHost servers, and you can add packages in a virtual environment. The Managed VPS page lists Python among the languages it runs. The help center says Passenger isn't supported, and we didn't see a Django or Flask guide for shared plans.

Plans: Managed VPS; scripts on all plans

Docker & containers

VPS plans

Docker isn't supported on managed plans, but you can install it yourself on a VPS, Dedicated server or DreamCompute. VPS Stack plans start with 2 vCPU, 4 GB RAM and 75 GB NVMe, with full root access. DreamCompute bills by the hour, from a 512 MB instance capped at $4.50/mo.

Plans: VPS, Dedicated, DreamCompute

Sales practices

Worth a closer look

We check five common sales practices and note them next to the score, without changing it. Two need a pass through checkout, which this scan didn't do. We'll add them on the next recheck.

  • Noticed
    "Unlimited" without a stated limit. Managed VPS lists unlimited websites and email, and plans list unmetered bandwidth. A Resource Allocation Policy explains how these are managed, but gives no number for bandwidth or websites.
  • Not checked yet
    Add-ons ticked for you at checkout. This scan didn't go through checkout.
  • Not checked yet
    Prices that change at the payment step. Listed prices exclude tax, which is added at checkout. We didn't check the final checkout total.
  • Not noticed
    Countdown timers that reset. No timers on the pages we read. Plan cards carry "On Sale" badges, and .COM domains carry a "Limited-Time Offer" label.
  • Not noticed
    Reviews with no source. The homepage shows Trustpilot reviews with names and dates, each linked to Trustpilot. Awards are listed by name and year.

Questions to ask DreamHost

Each partly clear or unseen signal leaves a question that the website didn't answer for us. DreamHost's support can probably answer them before you buy.

  • Who runs itWhat is DreamHost, LLC's registration number and registered office address?
  • Uptime in publicWhere can I see past incidents and uptime for each service?
  • BackupsDoes restoring a backup cost anything, and are shared backups always kept for two weeks?
  • Data locationCan I choose Amsterdam when I sign up for shared hosting or DreamPress?
  • Real specsHow much CPU and memory does each shared and DreamPress plan get?