Web hosting review

BigScoots

BigScoots is a managed WordPress host that also sells shared hosting, managed VPS and dedicated servers. Its site clearly explains flat plan prices, refund and cancellation rules, daily backups with 30-day retention, 24/7 support and how to move a domain away. Harder to pin down were a company registration number, CPU and memory for managed WordPress plans, malware scanning outside cPanel, a GDPR data processing agreement, and past incidents on the status page.

You sign with
BIGSCOOTS LLC, USA (Florida law)
Founded · based
Year not stated ("14 years") · Lewes, Delaware, USA (privacy policy address)

All ten signals at a glance

5 clear × 10 + 5 partly clear × 5 + 0 not seen × 0 = 75 / 100

Price over time

No intro price, so nothing jumps at renewal

BigScoots shows one price per plan, with no renewal price, and its FAQ says it has never raised plan prices for existing clients. You can pay monthly, or yearly for two months free. Monthly prices on monthly billing, in dollars, which the FAQ says include tax, from bigscoots.com/wordpress-pricing on 21 Oct 2026.

Price per month, before and after renewalSame price throughout
Essential 75
$35.00
same
Essential 125
$60.00
same
Essential 200
$85.00
same
$0$20$40$60$80$100

What we found

Each finding links to the BigScoots page it came from. Prices are the dollar prices on bigscoots.com, which the pricing FAQ says include tax.

An AI read BigScoots's public pages to write these findings. When something is partly clear or not seen, it may be explained on a page we didn't read, or our scan may have missed it.
Price

Honest pricing

Clear · 10 pts

BigScoots shows one price per plan, with no separate intro or renewal price. Essential 75 is $35/mo on monthly billing, or $350 a year on annual billing, which the site calls "2 months free". The pricing FAQ says prices are tax-inclusive and that BigScoots has never raised plan prices for existing clients in 14 years. The terms say clients pay sales tax or VAT that BigScoots must collect, and allow price changes with notice, generally from the next billing period. The Compare Features table lists Essential 300 at $1,150 a year, while its plan card says $1,200.

People

Who runs it

Partly clear · 5 pts

The terms name BIGSCOOTS LLC and say Florida law applies, with disputes in Florida or US federal courts. The privacy policy calls the company "BigScoots.com" and gives an address at 16192 Coastal Highway, Lewes, Delaware. The Why Us page names co-founders Scott (CEO) and Justin and says BigScoots began 14 years ago, while the homepage says "Trusted for 13 years" in one place. We didn't see a founding year or a company registration number on the pages we read.

Problems

Uptime in public

Partly clear · 5 pts

A status page at status.bigscoots.com describes itself as service health and incident updates, with an RSS feed. When we read it, it showed only "Checking Systems..." with no components or past incidents, so we couldn't see any history. The SLA promises 99.9% availability each monthly billing period, with a credit of 5% of the monthly fee per full hour of downtime, capped at the monthly fee. You claim it by email within 30 days. The homepage and pricing pages state 99.99% uptime, which differs from the SLA.

People

Reachable support

Clear · 10 pts

Support is available 24/7/365 by live chat, phone (877 570 3396) and support tickets in the portal. The pricing page lists an average response time of less than 90 seconds on every plan, and the Why Us page says experts are available within about 90 seconds. Help articles also accept technical questions by email to support@bigscoots.com from your registered address. An FAQ post from 2023 says there is no phone support and replies come within 5 minutes, which reads differently from the current pages.

Price

Fair terms

Clear · 10 pts

First-time shared and managed WordPress clients get a 45-day money-back guarantee, and first-time managed Cloud VPS and dedicated clients get 7 days. It covers only the base cost, not domains, software licences, backup services or colocation. Plans renew automatically, and the terms say to cancel in the portal, by ticket or by email at least 7 days before the next billing date; PayPal subscriptions must also be cancelled in PayPal. The help articles say a cancellation request in the billing portal takes effect immediately. After the guarantee period the terms say subscription fees are non-refundable.

Data

Backups you can use

Clear · 10 pts

Managed WordPress sites are backed up automatically once a day, around midnight CST, and backups are kept for up to 30 days off-server. You can add up to 5 manual backups and restore or download any backup yourself in the WPO Portal; we didn't see a fee for restoring. Extra backups cost $19.99/mo per site. The terms set retention targets of 14 days for shared, 30 days for managed WordPress and dedicated, and 2 days for Cloud VPS, and say backups are not guaranteed. Shared customers can download full backups from cPanel with JetBackup.

Data

Security basics

Partly clear · 5 pts

Every plan includes a free SSL certificate per site, set up automatically on managed WordPress, and shared, VPS and dedicated pages list free Let's Encrypt certificates. Two-factor login is available in the billing portal with an authenticator app, and in the WPO Portal by app, email or SMS; the help article describes it as something you switch on. cPanel accounts have Imunify360 with a real-time malware scanner, and a help article explains how to clean a hacked site yourself. For managed WordPress, we didn't see malware scanning or removal described as included; the site offers a paid Security Pro service and an optional security package with Patchstack.

Data

Data location

Partly clear · 5 pts

A blog post from December 2025 names two data centres, in Chicago and Ashburn, Virginia, with BigScoots-owned hardware. An earlier post from 2021 names the Chicago facility as 350 E Cermak, and the enterprise page calls it Tier III+. We didn't see whether you can choose a location. The privacy policy covers GDPR rights and says BigScoots relies on standard contractual clauses for transfers. We didn't see a data processing agreement; a GDPR blog post refers to Article 28 and the old Privacy Shield framework.

AmericasUSA: Chicago, Ashburn
Product

Real specs

Partly clear · 5 pts

Managed WordPress plans list sites, monthly visitors, storage and bandwidth as numbers: Essential 75 has 1 site, 75,000 visitors, 10 GB of storage and 150 GB of bandwidth. We didn't see CPU or memory for these plans, PHP workers are listed as "No Limit", and the Enterprise plan lists unlimited sites and bandwidth without a stated limit. Shared plans give 1 CPU and 1 GB RAM per account, but list unlimited databases and mailboxes, and unlimited domains on Turbo Diesel+. VPS plans list cores, RAM, SSD and bandwidth: VPS 1 has 2 cores, 2.5 GB RAM and 25 GB SSD. The terms say heavy overuse can lead to an upgrade, overage fees or throttling, while the homepage promises no overages or throttling.

Product

Easy exit

Clear · 10 pts

Managed WordPress backups cover the whole site and can be downloaded from the WPO Portal, and a help article shows how to export the database as an SQL file in phpMyAdmin. Shared customers can download a full cPanel backup with JetBackup. To move a domain away, you turn off the registrar lock and privacy in the billing portal and request the EPP code; we didn't see a fee for this. The cancellation articles warn that cancelling deletes all data immediately, so you need to download your backups first, and the terms say migration help may cost extra.

What you get per plan

Sites, visitors, storage, bandwidth, PHP workers and backups come from the pricing page. We didn't see CPU or memory numbers. These are the three smallest managed WordPress plans. Bars compare each row against the largest plan.

LimitEssential 75Essential 125Essential 200
WordPress sites
1
1
2
Visitors per month
75,000
125,000
200,000
Storage
10 GB
15 GB
30 GB
Bandwidth
150 GB
500 GB
750 GB
PHP workersNo limit statedNo limit statedNo limit stated
CPU and memoryNot seenNot seenNot seen
BackupsDaily, kept 30 daysDaily, kept 30 daysDaily, kept 30 days

Tech stack

Best for WordPress sites

Hosts are built for different kinds of sites. Here is what BigScoots says it runs, and on which plans. Tech fit is separate from the signal score.

Best fit: tools built for it on regular plansSupported: runs on some plans, with limitsVPS plans: you set it up yourself on a server

WordPress

Best fit

Managed WordPress plans run each site in a dedicated virtual environment with nginx and Redis, managed through the WPO Portal. They include free migrations by the BigScoots team, one-click staging, daily backups and a Cloudflare CDN. You can add SSH keys in the WPO Portal, and a help article installs WP-CLI over SSH yourself. We didn't see Git described.

Plans: All managed WordPress plans, from Essential 75

PHP

Supported

The WPO Portal offers PHP 7.4, 8.1, 8.2 and 8.3, with 8.2 as the default, and lets you change memory limit and execution time. Shared and reseller accounts switch PHP versions in cPanel's PHP Selector. We didn't see whether PHP apps other than WordPress are supported on managed WordPress plans.

Plans: Managed WordPress and shared hosting

Node.js, Python & Docker

VPS plans

We didn't see Node.js, Python or Docker mentioned on the pages we read. Fully managed VPS plans start at $54.95/mo with 2 cores and 2.5 GB RAM and cPanel, and dedicated servers at $234.95/mo with DirectAdmin. Neither page says whether you get root access or can run these stacks.

Plans: Managed VPS and dedicated, not stated

Sales practices

Worth a closer look

We check five common sales practices and note them next to the score, without changing it. Two need a pass through checkout, which this scan didn't do. We'll add them on the next recheck.

  • Noticed
    "Unlimited" without a stated limit. The Enterprise plan lists unlimited sites and bandwidth, and every managed WordPress plan lists PHP workers as "No Limit", without a number. Shared plans list unlimited databases and mailboxes, and Turbo Diesel+ unlimited domains. Other plans give visitors, storage and bandwidth as numbers. A limit may be published somewhere we didn't look.
  • Not checked yet
    Add-ons ticked for you at checkout. This scan didn't go through checkout. The pricing page lists add-ons such as extra backups, domains and storage separately, each with its own price.
  • Not checked yet
    Prices that change at the payment step. The pricing FAQ says prices include tax, while the terms say clients pay taxes BigScoots must collect. We didn't check the final checkout total.
  • Not noticed
    Countdown timers that reset. No timers on the pages we read. The annual discount is shown as "2 months free", without an end date.
  • Not noticed
    Reviews with no source. Reviews on the pricing page carry a name and link to Facebook or X. Most homepage and shared hosting reviews also link to a Facebook post, a Google review or the reviewer's own site, and case studies have their own pages.

Questions to ask BigScoots

Each partly clear or unseen signal leaves a question that the website didn't answer for us. BigScoots's support can probably answer them before you buy.

  • Who runs itWhat is BIGSCOOTS LLC's company registration number, and in which year was BigScoots founded?
  • Uptime in publicDoes the status page show past incidents, and is the uptime promise 99.9% or 99.99%?
  • Security basicsIs malware scanning or malware removal included on managed WordPress plans, as Imunify360 is for cPanel accounts?
  • Data locationCan you choose between Chicago and Ashburn, and is a GDPR data processing agreement available?
  • Real specsHow much CPU and memory does each managed WordPress plan get, and what limits apply to "unlimited" features?