Web hosting review

BigRock

BigRock shows renewal prices on its plan cards, runs a public status page with dated incidents, and its money-back policy lists clearly what is and isn't covered. Harder to pin down were the term and GST behind the intro prices, CPU and memory for shared plans, how long backups are kept, and which data-centre cities host your site. The terms and help pages describe backups and the money-back scope a little differently.

Website
bigrock.in
You sign with
Endurance International Group (India) Private Limited, India (P.D.R Solutions (U.S.) LLC outside India)
Founded · based
Year not seen · Mumbai, India (grievance officer address)

All ten signals at a glance

3 clear × 10 + 7 partly clear × 5 + 0 not seen × 0 = 65 / 100

Price over time

Shared hosting renews at 3.8 to 5.9 times the intro price

This is common in hosting, and BigRock shows both prices on its plan cards. The plan pages don't say which term the intro prices need. Monthly prices in Indian rupees from bigrock.in/web-hosting on 21 Oct 2026. The pages don't mention GST, and the terms say listed fees don't include taxes.

Intro price vs renewal price, per monthIntroRenewal
Standard
₹69.00₹409.00
5.9×
Business
₹159.00₹649.00
4.1×
Pro
₹199.00₹759.00
3.8×
Ultimate
₹249.00₹989.00
4.0×
₹0₹250₹500₹750₹1000₹1250

What we found

Each finding links to the BigRock page it came from. Prices are the Indian rupee prices on bigrock.in; the plan pages don't mention GST, and the terms say listed fees don't include taxes.

An AI read BigRock's public pages to write these findings. When something is partly clear or not seen, it may be explained on a page we didn't read, or our scan may have missed it.
Price

Honest pricing

Partly clear · 5 pts

Shared, WordPress, Business and Windows plan cards show a renewal price under the intro price. Standard is ₹69/mo and renews at ₹409/mo; Ultimate is ₹249/mo and renews at ₹989/mo. We didn't see which term the intro prices need: the cards only say "/mo", and a footnote mentions 1-month purchases. The plan pages don't mention GST, and the terms say listed fees don't include sales or other taxes.

People

Who runs it

Partly clear · 5 pts

The terms say customers in India sign with Endurance International Group (India) Private Limited, and customers outside India with P.D.R Solutions (U.S.) LLC. The contact page names the same Indian company, with a grievance officer address at the NESCO Complex in Goregaon (E), Mumbai, and a communication address in Jacksonville, Florida. An older management page names Directi Web Technology Private Limited, a subsidiary of The Endurance International Group, Inc., and lists different officers from the About page. We didn't see a company registration number (CIN), or an address labelled as the registered office, on the pages we read.

Problems

Uptime in public

Clear · 10 pts

BigRock runs a public status page at forums.bigrock.in that tracks 10 services, including Linux and Windows web hosting, VPS, email and the control panel. Its history lists issues and scheduled maintenance with dates, most recently maintenance on the order management system, closed on 20 Oct. One past notice describes a network issue in the "Provo DC" on 19 Aug 2025 that affected well over 100 shared Linux servers and was resolved after about an hour and a half. Hosting pages claim 99.99% uptime, and the WordPress page also says 99.9%. We didn't see an uptime guarantee or service credits in the terms.

People

Reachable support

Partly clear · 5 pts

The support page says the support team is available 24/7. The shared hosting page lists live chat as "Anytime" and phone support from 9am to 8pm, and a BigRock FAQ says the same. The support page calls tickets the best way to get help and says BigRock will respond "at the earliest"; we didn't see a stated response time. The contact page lists two support numbers, 0824-6614011 and 0824-2863606, and a toll-free sales number, 1-800-266-7625, and says .UK domain support replies within 3 business days; we didn't see a response time for hosting. We didn't see which languages support covers.

Price

Fair terms

Clear · 10 pts

The money-back policy gives 30 days on shared, reseller, cloud and unmanaged VPS hosting, for first-time accounts only. WordPress hosting, dedicated and managed servers, renewals and separately bought add-ons are excluded, and plan pages say it doesn't apply to 1-month purchases. After that, the terms say fees are non-refundable once paid, and their refund section describes the 30 days as for shared hosting only. Services renew automatically, you switch auto-renew on or off per order in the control panel, and the terms promise 30 days' notice before a price change. You cancel in the control panel and keep access until the end of the prepaid term.

Data

Backups you can use

Partly clear · 5 pts

Every Linux shared plan lists "Daily Backups", but we didn't see how long they are kept or whether a restore costs extra. The terms say BigRock doesn't maintain backups of your services and that keeping backups is your job, and the WordPress FAQ says weekly backups are available but recommends the paid Xcitium add-on for automated backups. Xcitium starts at ₹119/mo with daily backups and unlimited retention. You can make a full backup yourself in cPanel. VPS plans include 10 GB of backup space, and the server terms say BigRock provides no backups for servers.

Data

Security basics

Clear · 10 pts

All shared plans include a free Let's Encrypt SSL certificate, and Ultimate includes a DigiCert SSL for the first year. Two-factor login for the BigRock account works with Google Authenticator, with single-use backup codes for recovery. The shared hosting page says sites are scanned daily for threats, which are then fixed. WordPress plans list free malware scanning, a web application firewall and DDoS protection.

Data

Data location

Partly clear · 5 pts

Hosting pages let you pick India or the USA under "Where is your traffic coming from?", and the WordPress page tells visitors in the US, Canada and Latin America to choose the US data centre. We didn't see named data-centre cities, apart from a "Provo DC" in a status page notice. The data centre page only says servers are spread across data centres worldwide, and the terms say BigRock may move your account to another data centre. The terms say a Data Processing Addendum applies where you are a controller under the GDPR, but their link on endurance.com led to the newfold.com homepage. The footer's privacy link leads to a Newfold DPA from 16 June 2026 with the EU standard contractual clauses; it covers Newfold Digital and its affiliates without naming BigRock.

AsiaIndia
AmericasUSA
Product

Real specs

Partly clear · 5 pts

Shared plans list storage, websites, email accounts and traffic. Standard has 20 GB NVMe, 1 website and 200 GB transfer, and the other plans have unmetered transfer. All shared plans list unlimited databases with no number, and we didn't see CPU or memory for them. The acceptable use policy says there are no set disk or bandwidth limits, but a site shouldn't use more than 25% of server resources for longer than 90 seconds. Business hosting lists 3 to 10 vCPU and WordPress plans 1 or 2 vCPU, without memory; VPS plan specs didn't load on the pages we read.

Product

Easy exit

Partly clear · 5 pts

You can generate a full website backup in cPanel, which saves to your home directory. The domain transfer code can be viewed and changed in the dashboard under Transfer Code. The domain agreement has the usual 60-day wait after registration or a transfer, and says that if you use BigRock's transfer lock service you agree to pay any fees for the transfer, without giving an amount. The terms say your content may be deleted when services end, so you need to download it first.

What you get per plan

These numbers come from the Linux shared hosting page. CPU and memory for shared plans weren't on the pages we read. Bars compare each row against the largest plan.

LimitStandardBusinessUltimate
Storage
20 GB NVMe
25 GB NVMe
100 GB NVMe
Websites
1
5
20
Email accounts
10
25
100
Bandwidth200 GBUnmeteredUnmetered
DatabasesUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
CPU and memoryNot statedNot statedNot stated
BackupsDailyDailyDaily

Tech stack

Best for WordPress and PHP sites

Hosts are built for different kinds of sites. Here is what BigRock says it runs, and on which plans. Tech fit is separate from the signal score.

Best fit: tools built for it on regular plansSupported: runs on some plans, with limitsVPS plans: you set it up yourself on a server

WordPress

Best fit

WordPress plans start at ₹199/mo, renewing at ₹349/mo, with managed WordPress updates, malware scanning, a web application firewall and 1 or 2 vCPU. The FAQ says support can help move an existing WordPress site. WordPress hosting isn't covered by the money-back policy.

Plans: WordPress plans, from Starter

PHP

Best fit

Linux shared plans come with cPanel, PHP and Perl. A status page notice from December 2024 says Linux shared hosting moved to PHP 8.2 or higher by March 2025, and Windows plans list PHP 8.2 and 8.3 alongside ASP.NET and MS-SQL. SSH works on all Linux hosting, with key or password login set up in cPanel.

Plans: All Linux and Windows shared plans

Python

Supported

The Linux hosting page says you can code in up-to-date PHP, Python and Ruby. We didn't see a Python setup guide or Django or Flask support on the pages we read.

Plans: Linux shared plans

Node.js

VPS plans

We didn't see Node.js support on the shared hosting pages or help articles we read. Self-managed VPS plans give root access with AlmaLinux, Rocky Linux or Ubuntu, so you install it yourself. VPS plan prices and specs didn't load on the pages we read.

Plans: Self-managed VPS

Docker & containers

VPS plans

We didn't see Docker mentioned on the pages we read. Self-managed VPS plans give root access and unmetered bandwidth, and the server terms say BigRock provides no backups for servers.

Plans: Self-managed VPS

Sales practices

Worth a closer look

We check five common sales practices and note them next to the score, without changing it. Two need a pass through checkout, which this scan didn't do. We'll add them on the next recheck.

  • Noticed
    "Unlimited" without a stated limit. Every shared plan lists unlimited databases, and most list unmetered transfer, with no number on the plan pages. The acceptable use policy says there are no set disk or bandwidth limits, but a site shouldn't use more than 25% of server resources for longer than 90 seconds.
  • Not checked yet
    Add-ons ticked for you at checkout. This scan didn't go through checkout.
  • Not checked yet
    Prices that change at the payment step. The plan pages don't mention GST, and the terms say listed fees don't include taxes. We didn't check the final checkout total.
  • Not noticed
    Countdown timers that reset. No timers on the pages we read. Plan cards carry "65% off" style labels, without an end date.
  • Not noticed
    Reviews with no source. The shared hosting page shows a 4.4 out of 5 Google rating from 1,734 reviews, linked to Google. Testimonials on this page and the homepage carry a name and mostly "BigRock Customer", without a link or date.

Questions to ask BigRock

Each partly clear or unseen signal leaves a question that the website didn't answer for us. BigRock's support can probably answer them before you buy.

  • Honest pricingWhich term do the intro prices need, and is GST added?
  • BackupsHow long are daily backups kept, and are restores free?
  • Real specsHow much CPU and memory does each shared plan get?
  • Data locationWhich data-centre cities host India and US plans?
  • Reachable supportHow fast are support tickets answered?

Pages we read

38 pages · all read 21 Oct 2026
  1. bigrock.in
  2. bigrock.in/web-hosting
  3. bigrock.in/web-hosting/linux-hosting
  4. bigrock.in/web-hosting/pc-wh-5-year-hosting-plan
  5. bigrock.in/web-hosting/business-hosting
  6. bigrock.in/web-hosting/windows-hosting
  7. bigrock.in/optimized-wordpress-hosting.php
  8. bigrock.in/self-managed-vps-hosting
  9. bigrock.in/managed-vps-hosting
  10. bigrock.in/about-us
  11. bigrock.in/about-us/bigrock-management.php
  12. bigrock.in/datacenter-network.php
  13. bigrock.in/web-hosting/server-monitoring.php
  14. bigrock.in/web-hosting/data-protection-recovery.php
  15. bigrock.in/codeguard.php (Xcitium backup)
  16. bigrock.in/support
  17. bigrock.in/support/contact-us
  18. bigrock.in/support/legal (terms of service)
  19. bigrock.in/vps-terms-of-service-addendum
  20. bigrock.in/acceptable-use-policy
  21. bigrock.in/domain-registration-agreement
  22. forums.bigrock.in (status page)
  23. forums.bigrock.in/history
  24. forums.bigrock.in/issue/1776
  25. forums.bigrock.in/announcement/136 (PHP 8.2 and 8.3)
  26. newfold.com/privacy-center (footer privacy link)
  27. newfold.com/privacy-center/privacy
  28. Newfold DPA for customers (16 June 2026)
  29. support · money back policy
  30. support · auto renew
  31. support · order management topics
  32. support · two-factor login
  33. support · cPanel backup and restore
  34. support · WHM backups on VPS and dedicated
  35. support · SSH on shared Linux hosting
  36. support · domain transfer code
  37. support · domain transfer overview
  38. blog · HostGator India move FAQ

This report covers what BigRock publishes, as read by an AI. It can miss things or misread a page. We didn't host a test site, so it says nothing about real speed or how helpful support feels.